Working with Children

As many of you know I work in a law office.  I’m a “fake” paralegal.  Fake because I was hired as a legal secretary and then was promoted internally to being a paralegal, but I do not have a degree.  I’m just decent at what I do.  A large portion of my job is coordinating people and briefing.  I basically manage the cases I’m assigned, make sure we follow the FEderal Rules and the Local Rules of each court, and make sure the work gets done and that we don’t miss any deadlines, as well as some more complex actual law type stuff. 

Right now we are in a major briefing crunch and trial prep crunch.  We have 3 appellate briefs due in the next 4 weeks.  We are also prepping for what at this time is to be a 4-week trial.  But the main focus is the briefs.  On one of the briefs I am coordinating between three attorneys.  Three attorneys that really don’t get along with one another.  Its kind of like corralling kindergartners on the playground.  Trying desperately for each one to be forgiving of the other’s weaknesses and faults and just get the job done.  The hard part is that this is when I need knitting the most, and this is when I have the last amount of time for knitting.

Plus then I’m fielding questions from other attorneys on the other briefing being done. 

Attorney “Where is the record on appeal?”

Me “Well since its all electronic filing, its basically the docket sheet.”

” No its not, its the record.  See here’s this number. “

“Yes, that is the docket number of the pleading in the District Court, which is from the docket sheet.”

 “Well that is stupid, no one knows what that means.” 

“Um, I knew what it was.”

IMG_1449
Mommy, I’ll come get them for you!

My evil dog, Django, is going to have to come and protect me, or otherwise I may need one of my other attorneys to defend me in a criminal proceeding.

But the vest is making good progress, although the next few weeks will not have as much done as the previous few weeks.  When I’m done, I’m going to knit my hat kit from the Inua Wool Shop.  I think its about time I had a hat for winter.
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Working with Children

  1. Kat says:

    Well you know the rule I live by …
    “Always wear clean briefs, because you may get in a car accident.”

  2. Carrie K says:

    Oh, Kat. LOL

    Don’t many paralegals basically just have on the job training? Sounds like it’s both fun and a PITA at times! A hat sounds lovely.

  3. Chris says:

    Hang in there!!!

  4. Stephanie says:

    Have I mentioned lately how much I do NOT miss practicing law? Just hearing stuff like that makes me thank whatever divine intervention saved me from the madness. Good luck and next time tell the idiot that since he went to law school he should be able to at least read a docket. Oy.

  5. Sonya says:

    This is why we need knitting to keep us sane.

  6. kathy says:

    I’ve rediscovered your blog. How did I not catch on earlier that you are a paralegal? I’m considering a major career change and I’ve been contemplating becoming a paralegal. Now I see pics of knitting and work as a paralegal and think I may have found heaven! :)

Leave a Reply

