This Post Brought To You By the Letter P

Didn’t you love Sesame Street.  I did.  I grew up watching it, and now every day Basil watches it.  Remember how each day was brought to you by a letter and a number.  Actually I think it was two letters.  Well today we are theming the post with the letter P.

A Day At Pickle Springs

Pickle Springs.  Pickle Springs is this amazing natural area in Missouri.  Its not a state park, but its preserved by the National Audobon Society and is a Federal Natural Area.  Its absolutely beautiful, and while the last time we visited had the place completely to ourselves, this time it was packed.  Of course it was a beautiful Friday in November, a perfect time for outdoor activities.  We met about dogs on our walk, but we didn’t have the boys with us.  Its a quite hilly and narrow walking path the edges on cliffs and well Abner just isn’t a very good leash walker and gets too excited.  If you are ever near Farmington, MO I’d suggest a brief hike in this beautiful area.

Really Big Pot of Chili

Pot of Chili.  Yesterday afternoon we made a humungous pot of chili.  We use our largest le creuset and fill it to the brim, then we roast it in the oven for hours at 300 degrees.  That way nothing burns to the bottom and its absolutely fabulous.  I’ve placed a bottle of Samuel Adams beer by the pot to show you just how large it actually is.

Pictures.  Today’s post is picture heavy because I love pictures.  The problem is WordPress and I aren’t getting along with pictures.  I have to type the whole post and then place the pictures and sometimes it ends up looking funky.

Physical Therapy.  I went to my first physical therapy appointment last Friday.  I’m hopeful that we may actually have a start to healing now.  She’s having me do several strength building excercises and identified that my left hip is week and that may have caused an injury to the IT band.  So I have a two more appointments this week and on Friday I’ll evaluate if I give it another week, etc. 

Potential Project Choices.  I’m anxiously looking ahead to when the bomber jacket is done and I can work on something else.  I’m having second sweateritis.  Since I’ve already knit the exact same thing once, knitting it again is kinda getting boring.  But I’m bound and determined not to knit on anything else until the jacket is complete.  I divided for the back and sides last night.  At least I know exactly how many rows I have to complete and all the ins and outs.  I just have to stick with it, and since its a bulky knit, it should go fairly quickly. But it hasn’t helped my looking and pondering what I’m going to do next.  I feel the need to clean house a bit.  Give up on some of the projects I have looming in the wings and finish up some others.  I’m really in the mood to knit some lace, so I’ve been looking at lace patterns and but in my queue about 40 on Ravelry.  But I may take the opportunity to knit on the Forest Path Stole.  I sometimes find it a bit fidgely though.  So we’ll see.  I’m not going to worry about what I knit and when.  I also want to work on my afghan for my living room and I should work on the afghan for my sister.  But should isn’t working for me right now, so I’ll knit what I want when I want and be glad for any time I have to knit with a forthcoming crazy work schedule.  I’ve pretty much decided to frog the in-law bedspread.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  I may just pick out an afghan to make them or something.  Not sure, need to think about it.  And eventually soon I want to cast on for my  mother’s tablecloth.  I really wish someone would pay me to knit 40 hours a week instead of work, but of course let me keep all the projects I knit upon.

Problems.  Today is going to be, oh wait this week, is goign to be a week of problems at work.  I have this horrendous negative feeling about the week ahead.  But I will trudge through and try not to let it get the better of me.  I’m hopeful that I may be able to take Thursday off work, but even if I can’t, I’ll focus on something happier and get through it.  At least I have a job that 90% of the time I really do like.  And even more importantly in this economic times, I’m just employed.  This is a good thing. 

Possibilities.  There are so many! 

Pets.  When all else fails I just cuddle up and enjoy spending time with all the kids.  Pets really make a house a home in my opinion.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This Post Brought To You By the Letter P

  1. Chris says:

    Hopefully the problems are fewer than you anticipate!!!

  2. Brigitte says:

    LOL, Basil watches Sesame Street! Malcolm pays rapt attention to The Dog Whisperer.

    I hope physio works out! One small step at a time… And, I couldn’t agree more – at the end of a rotten day, there’s nothing like the fuzzy family to make it all better!

  3. Kat says:

    Aren’t physical therapists great. I think when it comes to muscles and tendons and bones, they really know more than doctors (I am not meaning to besmudge doctors because obviously with physical therapists that is what their focus on and doctors have to know something about everything).

  4. Sydney says:

    Your post reminds me that I haven’t made chili yet this year.

    Katie likes to watch CNBC (seriously) to keep an eye on her kitty stocks.

    I hope your week doesn’t have as many problems as you expect!

  5. Mr Puffy says:

    Your chili looks wonderful! Hope the PT does the trick and as far as work when we face things we are dreading often they turn out not to be as bad as we thought. You’ll get through it.

    A bedspread – LOL – what where you thinking indeed!

  6. Jeanne says:

    I hope the week wasn’t as bad as your feared – and if it was, at least its over. Glad the PT is working – hopefully you will be back to healthy in no time!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I love Sesame Street. P for pets is the best one.

  8. Lifesastitch says:

    LOL, I know there’s a good caption for that picture somewhere in my head.

Leave a Reply

