Stuck in Kansas City and Exhausted

To say I’m exhausted would be a grand understatement.  Its been a crazy first week of trial.  We get paid bi-monthly, and turn in our time accordingly, we aren’t to the end of this pay period yet, and I currently have 122.6 hours of OVERTIME.  That’s not including the probably 20-22 hours of work I’ll put in this weekend.  I think I deserve a nice yarn purchase.  It is at least somewhat interesting, I’ve been put in charge of running all the technology in the Courtroom.  Meaning I prepare and present video clips of deposition, run the trial presentation to present the exhibits to the Court, etc.  So I sit in the Courtroom for 8 hours a day, waiting till the pressure is on, then bam put the exhibit on the screen/monitors.  Its actually quite fun for a tech geek like me.  But the hard part is I had to purchase, install, and learn to operate a brand new program in just two days.  Fortunately for the first two days of trial I only did the video clips and they used an overhead type projector (called an Elmo) to present the exhibits.  Then my boss figured out I could do what the Defense teams were doing and look more professional and the pressure was on.  But I’m doing it, and I’m proud of my accomplishments considering three years ago I started at this firm as a secretary. And I’m the first secretary promoted to paralegal, and now trial presentation expert. :-)

With 122 hours of overtime your guess that there has been no knitting.  I’m hopeful tonight, but they keep wanting everyone to go out to team dinners.  I don’t mind, except it’d be nice to have some personal time.  Tonight though is Japaneese, and I don’t think I can resist.  I only brought the little toys to knit, left my jacket at home.  Today I need some time to get to the mall that is attached to our hotel by a skywalk to get a coat, as I don’t have one and its in the negative numbers here.  Although this week its going to warm up a tad, to 30.  I didn’t want to buy a coat this year because of wanting to lose another 50 pounds.  Nick is insisting I need to, I’m trying to figure out how not to.  And I found this gorgeous necklace that I’m coveting, and really isn’t that a better use of funds a necklace over a coat?

The stress level is high, the team is tense, and we’ll never forget the horrendous occurences of this week of what happened in St. Louis.  Everyone is exhausted and you can imagine how emotional and physically tense we all are.  People are stressed and everyone is taking it out on each other.  The meeting I’m in right now people are feeling under used, over used, wrongfully used, and annoyed at each other.  I’m glad I’m just a peon on the grand scale.

Well i’d better get back to the meeting.  Hopefully I’ll get some down time tonight to knit, but I have a feeling it might be like last night where I got back to my room and just crashed.  And that’s okay too.  Sleep is sometimes more important thank knitting, sometimes.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Stuck in Kansas City and Exhausted

  1. Sydney says:

    From what you describe, sleep sounds much better than knitting. With that much time together, I’m not surprised people are getting cranky. You definitely deserve something nice for all that overtime you’re putting in.

    Hey but if you buy a coat, it will probably warm up so you don’t need it. ;)

    Take care!

  2. Chris says:

    Hang in there!! I cannot even imagine accumulating that much overtime in less than two weeks! Congrats on your career progression there. :)

  3. Robin says:

    GRIPES! That’s a lot of overtime! However, it also translates into a necklace purchase and a yarn purchase! Coat??? Who needs a coat? Being warm is highly overrated!

  4. Kat says:

    We could have used your expertise this weekend.

  5. Cathi says:

    Oh, I hope you buy a coat! Just think of how cool you’ll look wearing it with scarves and hats you will knit with the yarn bonus. When you lose the extra weight, reward yourself with a new coat.

    • rebekahsyarn says:

      I have two nice coats waiting for me when I do lose the rest of the weight. and now its warmed up, so I think I’m gonna skip it. I just don’t want to buy anything out here that will remind me of this place and what has happened.

  6. Stephanie says:

    Wow. It sounds crazy! Don’tcha just love trials?? =) Go to Old Navy or somewhere and get a coat that isn’t too expensive – then you’ll be warm and won’t feel guilty about buying a new coat when you need to. Or find a nice bulky sweater coat on sale somewhere and go with that instead. You don’t want to freeze – that just adds stress to what already sounds like a stressful situation. Good luck and take care of yourself.

  7. Samantha says:

    When this trial is done you deserve a nap and then yarn shopping. You’ll want to be fresh when you pick up the perfect purchase! :)

  8. kathy says:

    Rest my dear! You’ll have plenty of time to knit (with some new yarn, while wearing a new necklace) when you get back. I’m not sure what to suggest on the coat. I wore one pair of jeans for about 14 months because I was unwilling to buy a second pair in a larger size… but subzero temps may require a temporary suspension of pride… after all, if you get sick, you won’t be able to exercise and lose that weight in a healthy way.

  9. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- You need a HUGE yarn purchase.

    • rebekahsyarn says:

      Or a new dog! But I don’t think I can convince Nick of that, and there isn’t enough room in the bed anyway :-)

  10. Mr Puffy says:

    Kiddo you deserve a very special yarn project as a personal reward! Thinking about you and sending good vibes. Being a lawyer and knowing the hierarchy it is really impressive what you have accomplished.

    I understand the coat dilemma. I would haunt the sale racks as winter clearances should be coming up soon. That and make do with long underwear in the meantime – LOL

Leave a Reply

