We Interrupt this Shawl for Something More Important – Chemo Cap

My friend texted me last Friday night and asked if I would by chance be willing to make her mom some hats, she was diagnosed with breast cancer.  Of course I couldn’t say no, and so I started looking for some patterns on Ravelry. I found several I liked and then debated about what yarn, recently I’ve been extra sensitive to fabrics, well just about anything.  So I questioned if wool was really the right choice.  So I decided to go with cotton, and Elann has a yarn called Esprit.  Its mostly cotton, but has a tad bit of elasticity to it.  And a lot of the chemo caps I liked on Ravelry were knit with it.  So I ordered late on Saturday but Wednesday my yarn arrived and i cast on to knit a turban.  The pattern originally called for knitting a 40″ strip and then grafting it together, then sewing an 8″ seam.  But I didn’t like the idea of a seam on a bald sensitive head, so instead I did a provisional cast on, knit for 24″, then picked up the stitches from the provisional cast on, knit it together for 8″ and then grafted the end close, and wallah! a turban without a seam. I like it.  Although I don’t like the pictures that actually show my face, I look tired and rough and I need to go on a bike ride terribly and get some spring back in my step. 

So for the next several weeks I’ll be knitting chemo caps, because you need more than one. 

As long as there are snuggles, mommy.

May I take this moment to remind you women to get a mammogram every year, and if you aren’t to the age they’ll do one yet, do self-exams.  The quicker breast cancer is caught the more likely its curable, and that is the most important thing, that one fights cancer and win.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We Interrupt this Shawl for Something More Important – Chemo Cap

  1. CatMyers says:

    That’s a nice one, Rebekah. I may make a couple of those for a friend.

    • rebekahsyarn says:

      It is really an easy pattern and once you knit two rows its the exact same thing. If you’d like though, I can write up my alternate method and e-mail it to you. And I love the Elann Esprit. ITs so soft and it took just over two skeins so less than $8 for the whole hat. Cascade Fixation would be another option to.

  2. monica says:

    That hat is cool! Sending lots of healthy thoughts to your friend’s mom.

  3. Mr. Puffy says:

    How very sad. Your lovely and thoughtful hats will mean a great deal to her.

  4. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- She will be very grateful. And I second that- mammograms save lives.

  5. Chris says:

    That is a great hat! I’ll keep your friend’s mom in my thoughts.

  6. Lifesastitch says:

    Thanks for the reminder, my notification came in the mail a couple of weeks ago and I need to make my appointment.

Leave a comment