Patterns

How I love thee, let me count the ways, or at least the patterns, and that would be 7,279 patterns in my personal library. According to Ravelry. I seriously love Ravelry. I can add my book to my personal library, or that fantastic pattern I found on Ravelry. And then, and this is really the beauty of it, I can search all the patterns I own whether in a book or in an individual pattern I’ve downloaded and I can search by yarn recommendation, sizes, construction, all sorts of things. Its fantastic!

How I love looking at patterns. To me a pattern is much more than a design to follow, its a map to a new destination, its a dream, its a fantasy. The yarn, the words, the needles, all have to fit together to make the pattern a reality. And its a marvelous journey. I’m constantly looking at patterns, wishing, hoping, dreaming, planning. Honestly, they are what get me through the mundane day of working in an office.

Today, I’m interested in crochet patterns. I’ve never been able to follow a crochet pattern and I feel like maybe its time to force myself into it! So I’ve been searching Ravelry for a basic but interesting shawl pattern that I can play around with. I’m also getting ready to purchase a new pattern to make myself a coat for this year. The Boston Top-Down Hooded Coat. I have the yarn to make it already, I just need to dedicate myself to making it for myself. ┬áSpeaking of myself, I did make myself some new shawls since we last spoke. My favorite, because its huge and comfy, is my Illusion Shawl.

illusion shawl 2illusion shawlSo excuse me now while I go look at some patterns, and dream of time at home knitting them all up into beautiful pieces of art.

 

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patterns

  1. lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I feel the same about patterns and yarn- I don;t see them as such, but where they can take me and the possibilities.

    And I sure love hooded coats. I made one in handspun, and I wear it all the time.

    Lovely shawl, btw.

  2. Mr. Puffy says:

    That’s such a beautiful and cozy shawl! Yes, I love Ravelry too. It may have killed the knitting blogs but that’s small price compared to what it’s done for the hand knitters!

Leave a Reply

