Blankets, Bonnets, Booties, and Bibs

Yep. That’s all I can think about. Well and little sweaters and toys and anything baby, but since they don’t start with B they can’t be in the title to this post. I found out last week. that I’m going to be a Great Aunt! My nephew and niece-in-law are expecting their first baby. And before you expound about how there’s now way possible I’m old enough to be a Great Aunt, I wholeheartedly agree. But then Paul was born when I was 14 so its true, I’m not old enough. But he is old enough to be a dad.

Now my plans are changing, do I knit my coat or do I start on the plethora of baby items I’m itching to knit. I know there will be at least two blankets, booties are needed, and bibs of course. I love the bibs I knit. They are very simple but very practical, I Love Stockinette Baby Bibs.  Its a free pattern. Its simple, you get to practice short rows and an i-cord edging. And they are easy to dress up.  I have made 9 of these, using the cheap balls of cotton from Walmart or Michaels. My favorite picture though is this action shot.

IMAG0228

7 Bibs

7 Bibs

Since they are very practical gifts, I plan to make them quite a few. But first the blankets. Then when I know what sex it is, I’ll make an appropriate item of clothing.

I’m currently working on at work the Sunny Cables and Crowns in a nice light brown color, perfect for boy or girl and the modern earth-tone baby. And since my nephew and niece-in-law are studying the Swahili language I’m making them the Safari Parade Blanket. Yarn is ordered. Can’t wait to start. Although still debating if I start that or knit my coat, decisions, decisions.

 

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blankets, Bonnets, Booties, and Bibs

  1. Lifesastitch says:

    I didn’t know you were back! So glad to see you updating again. I went to the other side (crochet) as well. It’s so fast, but eats up so much yarn.

Leave a Reply

