To Blog Or Not To Blog

I’ve toiled with this question every since I gave up Knit Knack several months back.  I do enjoy blogging, but I also enjoy not blogging.  Recently however I realized that a large portion of the reason I had disliked blogging was the internal pressures I put on myself.  I had begun to feel like I had to finish things, just to show you – my readers – what I had done.  But in fact, finishing projects and starting new projects has nothing to do with you.  It has to do with me, and that is what I had forgotten.  That knitting and spinning, and craftin in general, even writing, is for me, not for you.  Not that I don’t appreciate the people who stop by and read my blog, but I had to remember that if it had become a pressure, it was no longer enjoyable and was sucking the fun out of my crafts. 

So I quit.  But I did miss it.  I missed keeping a journal of my projects and sharing pictures of my animals.  I missed writing.  Although my writing had become rather dull and mundane.  That however was because I stopped putting thought into my blog, because I was forcing myself to blog on a daily basis.  I don’t need to blog on a daily basis.  I don’t need to write everything down every day.  But I do enjoy writing, and telling people about what I’m doing. 

So as a way to keep connected with my family and friends, I decided to start this little blog again.  Now I just have to remember to share the address with my family and friends.  I just started this, this evening, and thus if you read this in the next 24 hours, or the next 240 hours, you’ll see many many changes and updates and personalizations.

So stay tuned and I’ll let you know how it goes.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To Blog Or Not To Blog

  1. Lynette says:

    This post is incredibly sweet in its sincerity. Hey, I’ve been there! In fact, I’m still there…blogging had become a chore, as much as I loved the writing aspect of it. Scaling back was very necessary. You’ve taken the next step and actually created a new blog just to get away – and establish a different purpose – from the other one, I totally understand. Thanks for keeping me in your circle of friends and sharing your new blog. BTW, are you on Facebook??

  2. CatMyers says:

    Yaaaay! Rebekah’s baaaaaack! 😀 I hoped it wouldn’t take too long before you missed blogging so much you decided to try it again. Here’s a page you might like: http://www.tartx.com/blog/?page_id=233 They have some little badges for your blog – helps remind you that it’s not an obligation. (Hope this doesn’t look like spam to your blog now that I’ve put a link in it.)

  3. Li_B says:

    Welcome back 🙂

  4. Welcome back! You were missed!

  5. Robin says:

    Missed you and welcome back!

Leave a Reply

