Yarn to the Rescue

Over on Lobstah’s blog she talked about how yarn rescued her.  The more I thought about this I realized that yarn has rescued me or others around me more than once.

Most recently this spring we were having a particularly rainy month.  Nick changed the windsheild wipers on the car. Good thing, no? Well they immediately lost one of their cappy thingys. (I’m so technical aren’t I). As I’m driving down the interstate on my way to work the blade portion of the windsheild wiper starts sliding off.  I pull over, get drenched, and fix it.  Which I had to actually get off the interstate as it was rainy so hard that pulling off on the interstate and attempting to fix on the shoulder would have been too dangerous.

I head off again and within a few miles I have to pull over and fix the wiper again.  Finally I get to work and pull into the parking garage.  By evening it was still raining buckets, and not wanting to have the same ride home from work as I had to work I realized it had to be fixed. I go out to the car and start inspecting the windsheild wiper.  I realize that there was a hole near the end of the wiper which I’m assuming the cap snapped into.  Yarn to the rescue.  By tying a piece of yarn through the hole and around the end of the blade I stopped the blade from sliding off. 

Of course as a knitter who is obssessive, I always have yarn with me somewhere.  In fact recently at work someone needed string. No one had string.  But of course I had yarn!  Which really is just pretty string.

The Tree Has Eaten Abner's Ball
The Tree Has Eaten Abner
I Will Get My Ball!
I Will Get My Ball!

So here is my big boy, he’ll be 5 in just a few weeks.  And Django will have lived with us a year in just a few weeks.  Of course it is nearly impossible to get a good picture of my Django because he’s so wiggly!

He just couldn’t quite get the ball! But he sure tried for a long time.  Several months later we went back to the in-laws and he immediately went to this tree, looking in the crook to find his red ball.  And they say animals don’t have memories!
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarn to the Rescue

  1. CatMyers says:

    You’re just going to have to set that camera on a high-speed setting and start snapping a bazillion pictures to get Mr. Wiggles photographed! How cute that Abner was so determined to get that ball. Looks like he’s asking you to come get it for him in the second shot. And – GENIUS! using the yarn to fix the wiper! Hope you’re staying dry this weekend with all that weather in your neck of the woods from Ike! Yikes!

  2. Lorette says:

    This cracked me up, I just have this vision of you knitting a windshield wiper replacement! And yes, dogs have verrrrrryyy long memories. Riley never forgets things like this either.

  3. lobstah says:

    Rebekah! I didn’t realize you were back blogging! Welcome back 😀 Yes, “Yarn to the Rescue” could be a regular feature on blogs, ha ha. It’s amazing how handy a bit of string can be.

  4. Carrie K says:

    A year old already! Wow! I had visions of you knitting a windshield wiper too.

    I’m so happy that you’re back! and that you realized how much pressure you were putting on yourself. Easy enough to do! But don’t go away again! lol.

    That stuffed elephant is ADORABLE.

  5. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Hey! You’re back- that’s terrific.

    I’m glad to hear that everyone is well, and look forward to checking in on you and the guys!

  6. Sonya says:

    I love it when yarn comes to the rescue. Well, it always saves me mentally, but it’s nice to know there are practical uses too. I can’t believe it’s already been a year since Django found a home.

Leave a Reply

