May I Nap Now?

When I was little I called afghans naps.  Because everytime I layed down to take a nap, I used my Mama’s afghan she crocheted for us.  My grandmother crocheted the ugliest afghans, I mean naps, in the world.  (Oh Mama, is actually pronounced with long A’s and was my maternal grandmother).  They were absolutely hideous, typically orange and reds and greens, your typical 60’s and 70’s colors.  But they were extremely well-loved.  Mama always just used whatever yarn she had on hand, there wasn’t any particular planning, etc.  She crocheted for years, until she found her true passion in crafting which was stained glass.  She did phenomenal glass work, and I’m fortunate now to have several of her pieces adorning my house.  I miss my Mama.  But I’m glad to have so many pieces of her surronding me.

Her an my sister one year thought it would be a good idea, I think I was around 21, to make me crochet to help me stopping picking at my fingernails.  So I started crocheting again, and I made several blankets.  But I never could read a crochet pattern or master the art of it, so I just crocheted nap after nap.  Finally one day I was tired of crocheting and picked up a Learn to Knit book and haven’t looked back. It is my crafting niche. 

My Little Smiley Dog
My Little Smiley Dog

This week I’ve worked 22 hours of overtime, I really do need a nap.  I couldn’t fall asleep last night until 2 a.m., but yet I still couldn’t sleep past 8 a.m. this morning. 

Maybe this afternoon I’ll take a nap, I no longer have any lovely ugly afghans by my Mama, but I still have their memories. 
Django smiles. All the time.  He is just the happiest little dog, well not that little, although lighter then Abner, he’s actually taller and longer, he’s just not as muscley.
I’ll try and have a Basil picture for my next post.  He’s being anti-social lately as he’s molting and very unhappy and uncomfortable.  But it should be over soon, and my rotten little bird that loves to snuggle shall return.
Have a lovely weekend.
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to May I Nap Now?

  1. Li_B says:

    I recently took a crochet course to learn how to read a pattern and to learn more than the one stitch I learned in college when I, too, made endless afghans for gifts. It was fun.

    Thanks for sharing your memories.

  2. Carrie K says:

    Yay for smiling puppies and naps after working way too many hours of overtime during the week.

  3. monica says:

    Django does look happy in that picture!

  4. fireflynights says:

    What is it about those afghans that our grandparents made? Was it a requirement that they had to be gaudy and/or ugly? We have two from grandparents and one has olive drab borders and the other one has rather pleasant colors ruined by huge borders of black.

Leave a Reply

