I was born to Felt.

I should have known.  That in life, once I learned to knit, and learned the beneficial attributes of wool yarn, that I would fall desperately in love with felting.  Although, I do tend to never actually finish the felt items, but that is beside the point.  See I should have known when my family name is Felt.  Had I realized this earlier in life, I would have been knitting and felting at age 6, and I’d be a lot farther along in utilizing my stash. 

The actual point in this is that I took a break from the sleeves for “Gathering Intentions” and started yesterday, with my foggy brain, the Diamond Mitered Square Bag in the Interweave Felt magazine.  Afterall it has my maiden name written in bold letters across the front, it had to be purchased. 

I’m using up bits of Casecade 220 that I no longer have enough of for anything substantial, but have plenty to knit a purse by using scraps and pieces.  It may turn out to be a horrendously ugly purse, but I’ll use it with pride, because I made it. And afterall, it’ll be a one of a kind. 

Soccer Master

Soccer Master

I haven’t taken any pictures recently of my knitting, but I will eventually.  I’m out of habit from my blogging haitus. 

However, there are always pictures of the boys.  As you can see Abner is still totally in love with playing soccer.  Django, we recently discovered, also likes playing soccer, but not so aggressively as Abner.  He play for a few minutes, then lays down and takes a nap.  Abner would play until he quite literally collapsed and died.  Fortunately cooler weather is on the horizon, and so Abner will be able to play soccer all he wants soon.

Now I think I’ll go knit on my purse.  My brain can’t handle cables today.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I was born to Felt.

  1. Cynthia says:

    I’m so glad you’re back! I missed reading your blog. I’ll have to go and update my links again. Of course, I never got around to updating and taking out the old knit-knack link.

    Glad to see the boys are getting along well -Django has really grown already.

    I kind of went on a blogging hiatus, too, but didn’t bother to shut things down completely. I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things now that work isn’t quite so horrendous.

  2. Sydney says:

    It’s good to see Abner with his soccer ball again. I haven’t done that much felting. I see things I like. I just don’t make them.

  3. Lynette says:

    I desperately want to be a good felter. There’s a tub of yarn in my closet Just For Felting. But everything I want to felt (purses and bags) take huge amounts of time just to knit and then I’m mentally exhausted by the time it has to go in the washer. Why that?

    Is your family name really Felt?

  4. Sonya says:

    I haven’t felted anything, but I’m amazed by the process. I love before and after felting pictures. Our dogs are like that too. Lucy will run until she drops, but Shane will run about 2 minutes and then plop down in the ground to rest.

  5. One of the gals I knit with has started her bag and is going to use a different color for each of the 22 squares. I may be biased *grin* but I’m not certain it could really be ugly. Colorful? Yes! Ugly? I don’t think so.

  6. monica says:

    I like felting too but it’s just not in my genes. Plus where I live there’s just no need for felted items. Darn it!

    I love seeing Abner with his soccer ball too!

  7. Chris says:

    I hope you get to the felting bit, because when it goes well, it’s magic!

  8. Carrie K says:

    I can’t wait to knit up Kristi’s bag. I picked up the magazine on vacation. Felting is fun. More fun when it’s on purpose. 🙂

Leave a Reply

