Its Just a Flesh Wound….

The one thing about working in a law office is figuring out everyone’s sense of humor.  Who will laugh at what jokes, who will think your crazy, etc.  Fortunately my office is full of Monty Python which makes the nights your stuck there past midnight much more entertaining.  This last week, I worked 40 hours of overtime!  Yes, that is an 80 hour work week, and I was exhausted, but start cracking monty python lines about 11:00 p.m., and at least your laughing instead of crying.

Because of these insane hours there has been little to no knitting.  I have taken a brief hiatus from my last sleeve of Gatherin Intentions and the felted Diamond Mitered purse to quickly knit up some face cloths and soap sacks.  Boss’ Day is next week, and I wanted to do something special for my attorneys.  The men folk I just bought them something, but I wanted to do something by  hand for the one female attorney I work for, as she appreciates and craves the simpler things in life. So I made up two face cloths and little soap sacks.  Then I purchased soap from Robin who makes the most lovliest hand-made soaps, and some lotion (which I discovered is even lovlier then her soap!), along with some other relaxation bath salts, and packaged them up in a lovely basket.  I must say it was the cutest gifts I’ve put together in a long time.  But I didn’t take a picture.  However she absolutely love it! Since my boss were in town yesterday I went ahead and gifted the presents as I never know when they will all be around at the same time.

Now I’m knitting 3 more little face cloths and soap sack sets as thank you gifts to the 3 women who helped me survive and get all the work that had to be done in the super-intense 80 hour work week last week.

Waiting
Waiting

But guess what! My husband is now employed.  He started his new job this Monday, so this is what Abner and Django have been doing every morning.  They are not used to Nick leaving, for the past 2 1/2 years he’s been home after his broken leg and illness.  Last October we rescued Django to keep Abner company when Nick returned to the work-force, but its taken a full-year to have that happen.

They’ll eventually get used to it though. And fortunately, we won’t have to move into that box after all.
Now back to knitting……oh and when I find a little extra time, I’ll continue my tour of St. Louis with the glove.
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Its Just a Flesh Wound….

  1. Robin says:

    I’m confused — the date of your post says October 8th. I had to look at my calendar! You’re playing with my mind! I’m SO glad the soap and lotion was a HIT! I would have loved to see the soap bags. Make some more and take a picture!!

  2. Sydney says:

    Yay for Nick getting employed! I love Monty Python so it doesn’t take much for me to start remembering bits and songs and stuff. The soap basket sounds like a lovely gift.

  3. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Glad to know that you’re keeping busy, and working in a law office can be really crazy.

    It’s good that Nick is getting back to normal, although the pups will wonder where their playmate is.

  4. Chris says:

    Congrats to Nick!! And dang, I hope you have some relaxation time coming up – I know how wiped out I feel after just working 10 extra hours in a week.

  5. Jeanne says:

    I’m glad there will be no moving into boxes, but the boys will be lonely.

  6. Li_B says:

    We have a poverty law program at my office and one of the advocates gave a humourous presentation about a group of tenants fighting their landlord regarding having cats as pets. I wish I could remember all the puns – the cat clause, the landlord being a rat…

    Congratulations on the good news.

  7. I’m so glad life is falling into a more normal pattern for you both (aside from 80 hour work weeks of course)! It’ll be good for the boys to have something to look forward to – each of your arrivals back home. Great job on the gifties too! Do you suppose I could treat myself next week since I’m my own boss? LOL! 😉

  8. Lynette says:

    I hope you’re getting tons of overtime pay for the extra hours. And I agree – coworkers with a sense of humor make work a little less tedious. Yay for Nick and his new job! Now Abner and Django can get back to their regular TV programming 😉

  9. Carrie K says:

    80 hours! Yikes. Sounds like tax time. I hope it’s brief! The facecloths and soap & lotion are sure to be appreciated, it sounds lovely.

    Poor Abner, Django and Nick. A& D because of loneliness and Nick for being gainfully employed. It’s good for the pocketbook though! Does Nick like his new job?

  10. monica says:

    You are so nice to make all those gifts to your bosses! Great news about Nick’s new job! My dogs feel for your dogs because they are used to us being home all the time since we both work from home. I’m sure they’ll get used to it in no time and when Nick comes home they won’t even greet him! (Just kidding!)

  11. CatMyers says:

    Wow! Great news for Nick. I’m sure it’s hard living the “kids” home alone, but I bet he’s glad to be back out there. That’s a long work week for you. I don’t think I could do it. Neat gift you made/assembled!

  12. Sonya says:

    Yay for Nick! That must be a load off your mind. Not that you have time to think working an 80 hour week! We loved your last post; major Cardinals fans here. Do Abner and Django go nuts when Nick gets home every day?

Leave a Reply

