Alpaca Chullo Hat Begins

One Ear Flap

One Ear Flap

Eventually, on Monday night, the Alpaca Chullo hat became available.  I decided to wait until Tuesday morning to order.  Then it wasn’t available!  Then by Tuesday afternoon the hat was available.  But my purse I wanted to order wasn’t.  I finally gave in and ordered the hat kit, and enough yarn to make about 18 bajillion Star Wars hats.  Paid for 3-day shipping, 2 days later my hat kit arrived.  Fortunately I didn’t have to work this weekend and I was able to start the hat.  I have two ear flaps done and the first two small strips done. 

I went ahead and bought fleece to possibly line the hat because after all, my niece, the recipient, is in Alaska and Palette, although wool, is fairly thin and I want the hat to be very warm.  My only concern though is the hat pattern is only one size, and since I typically knit tight, I decided to make it on the needle size 3 (what the pattern calls for) and hope that it’ll be small enough but not too small.  Its a risk, but I the worst that will happen is it’ll be too small and I’ll have to reknit it.

There was one other disappointment in the kit.  Yesterday I discovered that they sent one wrong color and didn’t send the right color.  So I’ve had to adjust a couple of the fair isle patterns to accommodate that I have only one color of blue instead of two.  But since time is of the essence, I’m not going to complaint to Knit Picks.  I’ve had to complain to them before about problems with what they’ve shipped and they always have excellent customer service, at least I’ve never had a problem, but I need to get this hat done, so I can finish the sleeve to Gatherin Intentions for my trip to San Francisco in 5 weeks, and start the 3 matching family Star Wars hats.

Plus I’m working at least 10 hours of overtime a week, if not more. 

Excuse me while I put the computer down and start working on the hat…..have a lovely evening!

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Alpaca Chullo Hat Begins

  1. Chris says:

    It’s going to be cute! Bummer about the color mix-up. 😦

  2. Sydney says:

    That’s too bad about the wrong color. It’s looking cute so far though!

  3. Angel says:

    Glad you got the hat kit- bummer on the mix-up but I bet it will be super cute. I am still waiting on a bunch of colors to get in stock so I can knit Autumn Rose….

  4. Carrie K says:

    Hey, you’re going to be in SF in 5 weeks? Maybe we could meet up someplace!

    Bummer on the lack of the 2nd blue. I’m glad that their customer service is so good but it’s not too good to hear that it happens often enough that you’d know how excellent it is.

  5. Debby says:

    Glad you finally got the hat pattern! I hope the gauge works out OK.

  6. CatMyers says:

    Such an adorable llama! How fun you already have the hat to get started on – well, except for the color mix up thing.

  7. Kelly says:

    awww now isn’t that a cute little alpacy 🙂
    Its going to be sooo cute. I must look at my catalog again cause I completely missed the pattern.

  8. Sonya says:

    I hate mixups like that. It’s going to be an adorable hat though!

  9. Jennifer says:

    Ugh about the color problem, it’s going to be really cute though!

Leave a Reply

