Wallowing Works Wonders

I wallowed, and then I decided I had had enough wallowing and decided to take action.  Maybe wallowing and letting everyone know where I was at, was exactly what I needed.  Monday I decided to do 4 things, to start out, 1) keep a food journal and start counting my calorie intake, 2) drink at least 80 ounces of water each day, 3) take a walk at least once during my lunch hour this week, and 4) avoid all candy, cakes, cookies and those sorts of things for one month. 

So far so good.  I’m going to baby step, thank you Bob, my way to weight loss.  And fortunately on Monday, I wouldn’t say this out loud around my office, the trial I was going to have to be away from home for a month for has been cancelled, at least the portion they needed me for, and so thus I don’t have to go away from home for a month, and thus I can start my exercise regime!  I’m very excited, but I’m also going to go into this slowly, so I won’t actually start the exercising possibly for a week or so. 

Right now I need to concentrate on the food journal, staying away from candy, and drinking my water.  These are important steps for me to take, and part of equation I was missing last time I started excercising which just lead me to being more depressed because I wasn’t losing any weight after 8 weeks.

So I won’t bore you any more, but wallowing helped and thank you for all your advice. 

Happy Django Dog
Happy Django Dog

No I think I’ll go and play with the boys and work on my sleeve to Gathering Intentions.  Again, thanks for letting me wallow, it was exactly what I need.  Hopefully I can keep this new energy and get myself healthy. 

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wallowing Works Wonders

  1. Agnes says:

    Congratulations for taking the first step. Maybe let us know how you are doing along the way … we can be cheerleaders, you know … maybe without the pompoms, but cheers nonetheless. 🙂

  2. Sydney says:

    Wallowing always works for me. Not long, just enough to get my wits about me again. 🙂 Glad to hear you won’t have to be away from home for a month. That should help.

  3. Kathy says:

    Well, now Mom & Dad can come visit.

    You know you are an inspiration. Turning wallowing energy into something positive is not an easy task. Now maybe I can reach my anti-wallowing goal to not whine about the weather all winter. I’m going to try to embrace every last snowflake (well figuratively because I’ll be staying inside. I’ll enjoy the opportunity to wear the cute hats I’ve knitted and relish my time curled up under a blanket on the couch to knit other people winter woollies. Whats more winter is the time when Sci-fi plays Twilight Zone marathons and Dr. Who will start it’s new season. Yes, because you I can say “no” to winter whining. 🙂Really.

  4. monica says:

    Way to give yourself a kick in the (wallowing) butt! Django is so cute.

  5. Chris says:

    Good for you!! I have an interesting book on my xmas list, called The Writing Diet. I read bits of it from the library, but wanted my own copy to scribble on when I read it. Anyway, the author runs writing workshops and discovered that the people in her workshops, who were doing 20-30 min of free writing every day, often started to lose weight. Apparently, the free writing helped them get in touch with buried/hidden feelings and in doing so, decreased emotional eating. Makes total sense to me.

  6. maeve says:

    WOOT!!!! I’m glad you don’t have to be away from the gang for a whole month, and I’m glad that you’re “on your way” to a more positive place. I’m a firm believer that there’s nothing like a good wallow when you need it – it lets all the bad energy out, and gives you a chance to build something new.

  7. Sonya says:

    Yay for baby steps! It helps me, especially like right now when I’d like to have some candy to boost me to 5:00, to tell myself that I’m just foregoing candy today. I may have candy tomorrow, but definitely not today. My mind requires these little tricks. ;o) Django is looking like a very grownup, mature doggie.

  8. CatMyers says:

    What a beautiful picture of Django! Sounds like a great postwallow plan you got there! 😀

  9. Carrie K says:

    Oh boo! I had so many plans for your time out here (that you’d probably have to spend working…)

    Baby steps are good. Dr Dean Edell said on his radio show today that people who could visualize themselves completing unfamiliar tasks and learning new projects had the best results on weight control. Clearly as a knitter you’re a shoo in! You just had to decide to do it.

  10. Jennifer says:

    You have my support! It sounds like you are starting out well with your plans.

Leave a Reply

