Am I 17 Again?

I’m going on vacation.  With my mom and dad.  Yep.  No husband.  Just dad, mom, and me.  I’m a little scared, I don’t think I’ve gone on a long vacation with my folks since I was 17.  Well I take that back, when I was 29 (I think) I went with my sister, dad and met up with my mom down in Florida for my grandmother’s funeral, but I don’t think that counts as it was a funeral.  Although it was quite fun bonding with my sister, and driving my mom a tad crazy.  My sister and I, Kat, went to the beach each day and swam, it was a lot of fun.

This time though, I’m going with mom and dad to Alaska.  Yay for mom and dad’s frequent flyer miles.  So in February, yes I said February, I’m headed to Alaska with the folks to see my brother and his family.  We are hoping to see the Northern Lights, thus the reason for going in the middle of winter.  Thankfully I have plenty of wool sweaters, and bought a nice warm coat from Lands End as well as matching boots.  I don’t think I’ve ever had matching coat and boots, I actually feel like a girl.

Talk About Spoiled!
Talk About Spoiled!

Mom is excited about the norhtern lights, I am too, but I’m more excited about finding my way to a couple of Fairbanks knitting shops, one in particular that boasts on their website a good supply of quivit in both laceweight and heavier.  I’m buying myself some quivit to make a lacy scarf or shawl.  I’m not sure, no doubt though something out of Artic Lace.  I’ll have to take that book with me.

I’ll have to pack wisely for airplane knitting, we’ll be on planes and airports for over 15 hours each way! 
I’m not sure what this spoiled dog will do when I’m gone, who will cover him up?  I guess Nick will have to, I mean what a spoiled baby, covered with a blanket, laying on his personal couhc, with a pillow.  This coach is supposed to be moved into the basement, but he loves it, so we haven’t brought ourselves to putting it in the basement yet.  After all what will the big baby Abner do without it?
Well time for bed.  Have a nice week!
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Am I 17 Again?

  1. Agnes says:

    Alaska! I feel excited for you …
    I start to feel that Abner cover himself up … he’s more like a human baby in my mind! LOL!

  2. Sonya says:

    How exciting! You will have a wonderful time. I went on vacation with my parents when I was in my mid-20s. It was a lot more fun than when we drove to Phoenix when I was 17 and my brother was 12.

  3. Alison says:

    Wow, what an exciting thing to look forward to doing! Hope you’ll also remember your camera and that you take plenty of pictures to share on the blog!

  4. Chris says:

    Sounds very exciting – and chilly! 🙂 Where in Alaska?

  5. Sarah Katie says:

    You have fun there. It has been a while since I went anywhere with them too, I think the last trip I took with them was to Florida when I was 10 or 11. Aren’t you coming here in January too?

  6. Carrie K says:

    Alaska in February and yarn stores! I’ve always wanted to go to Alaska. You’ll have a blast, Abner will be fine, his Dad and brother will take care of him. It’s totally different doing things w/your parents as an adult, you’ll be surprised how they’ll be doing things the “right” way (odd things.) And different than going to a funeral too. Lucky you!

  7. Sydney says:

    That sounds like fun! Going on trips with your parents as an adult is a lot different than as a kid.

    I’ve always wanted to go to Alaska or somewhere to see the northern lights. Make sure you take plenty of photos.

  8. monica says:

    That sounds so exciting! I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun. Abner looks so velvety in that picture. 🙂

  9. Jennifer says:

    That sounds like a fun trip!

    Ah Abner. There’s the life.

  10. Samantha says:

    That sounds like a lot of fun. 🙂 I’d love to go to Alaska. 🙂

Leave a Reply

