My Home Spruce and Current Projects

The Finnish mitten kit is finished, well a couple weeks back actually.  They have been mailed and received by my mother who loves them, since they match her new coat for Alaska perfectly.  Although she is too afraid to take them to Alaska because she is afraid she’ll lose one, so she’s taking her old mittens.  Mothers are funny. 

My Home Spruce Mittens
My Home Spruce Mittens

I love these mittens, they are so cute, in fact I’m a bit sad that I didn’t get to keep them, but I know my mother loves them, and they are right up her alley.  Plus they match her coat.  And I have the pattern so I can always make them again, however I love this wool.  Its a bit coarse, but its perfect for mittens. 

The pattern was a hand-drawn graph and a bit rough, but all in all they turned out well. But I wouldn’t recommend the pattern if it you get easily frustrated if the pattern isn’t perfect and can’t kinda figure things out on your own.  I’ll definitely make these again when I spin up some yarn to make myself a pair.
I have two more kits from her, that I’ll make eventually but for now I have a ton of other current projects that need attention.  Here’s my list:
  1. Log Cabin Afghan – this project is kinda at a stand still, I haven’t worked on it for quite a while. 
  2. Diamond Lace Afghan – I’ve been working on this quite a bit, but its a slow go.
  3. Gracie Shawl – haven’t worked on for a while, made from Silky Wool, yummy.  I’m about 3/4 done I think.
  4. Diamond Mitre Purse – Kristi’s pattern from Interweave Felt magazine, 2008.  Lovely, using scraps of Cascade 220.  Also haven’t worked on for a month or two.
  5. Forest Path Stole – Haven’t worked on for ages, but absolutely love it.  But its a project that needs patience, which I haven’t had a whole lot of lately.
  6. Flower Petal Baby Blanket – Just started this one today. Its a gift for my boss who’s expecting his second baby this April.  Pattern by Dawn Brocco, its knit with two strands of worsted weight yarn so it’ll theoretically knit up very quick.
Django and his chew Toy
Django and his chew Toy

I hope to update Ravelry and my blog with pictures of these works in progress soon.  I ordered myself with gift certificates from my boss a Canon point and shoot camera, which I hope will encourage me to take more pictures of projects.  I love my digital SLR Canon, but its a bit cumbersome and not as easy to upload picture, etc. 

Isn’t my Django sweet! And look you can see his funky eye in t he picture.  He loves his chew toys, he’ll chew for hours and hours.
Have a great weekend. My folks are coming for a visit this next weekend, so I’ll be busy cleaning.
Toodle Pip.
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Home Spruce and Current Projects

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love those mittens! And of course Django is a cutie. I love your pictures of him.

  2. Sydney says:

    The mittens are beautiful! Don’t even mention unfinished projects. I have so many!

  3. Kat says:

    If we can just keep Mom from giving them away to someone she thinks is needy or needs perking up.

    What do your boots look like?

    Goodness, so many projects, so little time.

  4. Robin says:

    Your mittens are great!! Django’s coloring is so pretty. Both pups are quite handsome! I’m with you re: the unfinished projects category. They’re going on my resolution list.

  5. Chris says:

    The mittens turned out great! Maybe you could buy your mom some mitten clips for Alaska… 😉

  6. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I love the Finn mittens. I’ve made 4 pairs of mitts this month, it’s alot of fun, and do-able.

  7. Sonya says:

    Those mittens look so warm! I’d take them to Alaska if I were going. But, like you said, mothers are funny. I know what you mean about those kinds of patterns. I’m doing mittens right now from a Norwegian pattern so it’s pretty much just the chart. Glad I’ve done a couple pair before or I’d be lost. Django continues to get cuter!

  8. Sari Canari says:

    Those mittens look really big, kind of like the unfinished mitten sitting on my set of size 5 dpns. I finished another project finally. Although I was getting payed and had a deadline so I didn’t really have a choice. I have some hand spun yarn that Mom got me from a spinner at the Amana Woolen Mill, which made me want to learn how to spin even more. It is really chunky yarn and I like it, but there isn’t quite enough to make a hat with. I also have an unfinished pair of socks I need to work on.

  9. monica says:

    Those mittens are so great! I’m glad your mom loves them and it’s funny that she’s worried about losing them. Maybe you can tie them to her coat! 🙂

    Django is adorable!

  10. CatMyers says:

    Oh, Django. Looks close enough to kiss on the nose! Oh, and the mittens are neat too! 😉 Actually, I’m really anxious to get to some stranded mittens before it’s not hot enough to be inspired – just need to get that spinning wheel going so I can come up with the yarn for them. I love my Canon “point and shoot” camera. Some day would like a DSLR with a couple of nice lenses for it, but meanwhile, this is a pretty darn good stand-in.

  11. CatMyers says:

    Oops! That should have said “not COLD enough” to be inspired. Hot days = no mitten knitting inspiration!:D

  12. Kat says:

    He, He, I love the mitten clip idea. Can’t you just see mom with Big Bird Mitten Clips (seems to me you had some kind of cutie mitten clips like that when you were little), or on a long string hanging around her neck and through her sleeves?

    Kat

Leave a Reply

