Big Project Plans and I Need Yarn Advice

Django the Lap Dog

Django the Lap Dog

I realized this week that in the next 3 years I have some major family events.  2010 will come and on May 25 my sister will celebrate her 25th wedding anniversary, and on the July 4 my in-laws will celebrate their 40th.  2012 will bring on August 4 my parents 50th wedding anniversary.  My family, well me, enjoys celebrating anniversaries and I enjoy giving gifts.  For these big events I want to do something pretty big.  My sister I have determined will receive an afghan.  I e-mailed her six pictures yesterday and told her to choose.  She told me, you do realize our 25th is still a year away, and I said yes it will take me that long to finish this!  Plus by now I understand my pattern, I have to have lots of projects so when I get bored with one I work on another.  Also I realized that my sister reads my blog (she’s the Kat that comments) and there is absolutely no way I could keep this a secret from her. 

My parents 50th is in 3 years, I have more time obviously to plan for this.  But I want to do something even more difficult.  See back when I was about 13 I had this paper punch from my paper route.  I was curious if it’d punch material as well as it punched paper, so I used it on my mom’s crocheted lace tablecloth. It punched a hole like a charm.  Mom didn’t even notice for years until I finally fessed up about the age of 30.  So mom is going to receive a new lace tablecloth from me.  This is where I need advice:

  1. Pattern suggestions….I have the two Modern Lace Knitting books which will probably ultimately be what I choose from, but I’ve seen on Ravelry some beautiful other choices as well.  so thought I’d ask for input.
  2. Yarn.  What kind of yarn makes a good tablecloth.  Is there some crochet thread that is better then the other? 

In-Law’s 40th.  I’m not sure what I am going to do for this.  Maybe an afghan for them as well.  Maybe 2009 could be the year of the afghan for me.

Also any suggestions for a decent acrylic wool blend other than Encore for my sister’s afghan.  I may end up using Encore as I do find it very durable and easy to keep clean.  But I would love some other larger wool percentage options to check out.

In the meantime, I’ll go back to working on Gracie, Diamonds and Lace, Log Cabin and Forest Path Stole…..and figuring out Alaska knitting trip options.

Toodle-Pip

Update: Okay I decided what to knit for my in-laws.  A bedspread.  Yep, a lace bedspread from Heirloom knits.  I’m hoping I can track down the yarn actually used in the book for several of the bedspreads (although not the pattern I’ve choosen) but its apparently difficult to get in the U.S.  If I can get it, I’ll probably also use it for my parents tablecloth.    More on the individual patterns later.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Big Project Plans and I Need Yarn Advice

  1. CatMyers says:

    Jennie Gaskin at CountryYarns.com sells nice doily/tablecloth thread. I love the Optima I got from her a few years back – http://www.countryyarns.com/optima.htm – although I’ve never made it into a tablecloth! Wow. I’d get started on that project NOW. LOL.

  2. Chris says:

    My goodness! Good thing you’re planning ahead.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Very ambitious, wonderful gift goals! Another yarn like Plymouth Encore but, in my opinion, softer is Ella Rae Amity. I just knit my kid’s lap blankets with it, and it’s really nice. I’m not sure about higher wool content. If you are sure the blanket will be laundered appropriately, you could always use a superwash. Knitpicks has some nice superwash wool yarns, and Cascade 220 Superwash is nice.

  4. Robin says:

    The gifts sound great! I’m sure they will enjoy each one. I’d also vote for Cascade 220 Superwash. Cascade usually has good yardage for the $. Love the picture of your lap dog!

  5. monica says:

    I can’t wait to see the bedspread! Django makes himself so small–NOT!

  6. lobstah says:

    Django is such a hoot!
    I’m impressed at your ambitious list of anniversary knits! No pattern suggestions, but if your sis can handle washing on gentle and drying on low, then there are superwash 100% wool yarns that would fit the bill. My personal fave is Louet Gems, but it is kind of pricey (unless you can find it on sale).

  7. Sydney says:

    LOL at Django the lap dog! Those will be nice gifts. I’ve never had the guts to make a lace tablecloth so no suggestions from me.

  8. Carrie K says:

    Oooh, the bedspread is a fabulous idea. I have no clue about the yarns but that does sound like a great ambitious project! The one nice thing is it doesn’t have to fit the way clothing does.

    At least they’re nicely spaced out!

  9. Li_B says:

    I like James C Brett Marble, a nice textured, tweedy soft acrylic – chunky and DK. I’ve had good luck with Red Heart Soft Touch – soft, washable and good stitch definition. I’m in afghan mode, too.

  10. Kat says:

    Once again, you’ve figured out a way to make mom like you best! 🙂 I gave her three grandchildren, but I’m not sure if that helps my status or harms it.

  11. Sarah Katie says:

    Actually Aunty B, you have another upcoming event. I graduate around the same time Mom and Dad have their 25th. So, since you didn’t come to either of the boys graduation parties I was going to try and get you to come to mine. Don’t ask me what I want though, because I have no idea. Something knit would be nice though.

  12. Sonya says:

    You are one ambitious gift giver! Django thinks he’s a little, tiny dog, doesn’t he? ;o)

  13. Angel says:

    I vote for Cascade 220 superwash- another good yarn that washes well that my mom likes is Berroco Comfort. Its not too expensive and it is a high-quality acrylic- very soft and smooshy.

  14. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I have to say this, you do take on very ambitious projects. I am in awe.

Leave a Reply

