The Daunting Task Ahead

It has arrived, the yarn for the next 3 years of my life arrived on Wednesday. 

3 Year Project Plan

3 Year Project Plan

Isn’t it pretty.  I must say I’m very glad my sister picked out some orange yarn rather then cream, because after the bedspread and tablecloth being in Alabaster which is a very creamy cream color, I think I’m going to need a splash of color to save my sanity. 

The bedspread pattern is more of a formula then a pattern.  The main panels, tumbling leaf, the author didn’t even tell how many stitches to cast on, just the pattern repeat information.  I haven’t been able to find an errata for the book either, so I had to use my mad calculating skills to figure out how I wanted the project to go.  Additionally, the pattern calls for knitting each strip separately and hand-sewing it all together.  That is insane.  I know my skills at sewing lack tremendously, so I decided I’d combine it all together and knit it in one piece.  Now this led to another interesting dilemna.  There are 3 separate lace patterns, the Tumbling Leaf, Openwork Panel, and Godmother’s Lace which edges the piece.  Each has a different row count.  So I created an Excel spreadsheet which laid out 3500 rows, then the next 3 columns have the repeats of the different lace sections.  So for instance I can look at my chart and see if I’m on row 1186, I should be on row of 10 of Tumbling Leaf, Row 2 of Openwork Panel, and Row 16 of the Godmother’s Lace. 

Last night I casted on 740 stitches on Size 1 Addi’s.  My wrist hurts today.  I discovered one thing about knitting that infuriates me.  The fact that the U.S. differs in their needles sizes then Europe.  My size 1 Addi’s are 2.5 mm, my size 2 Crystal Palace (which is what I started on before I decided to knit it all in one piece) is 2.75 mm.  I say we should all just go by the mm and not the us size, its annoying.  But then, I’m having a crabby pants day.

However, I must say that I have the best young boss in the world, he’s several years younger then me, has an adorable family (whom I made the flower blanket for his new daughter due in a few months), and this morning he must have realized I was going to have a crabby pants day and he brought me this….

Yummy fancy chocolates

Yummy fancy chocolates

As soon as I finish my salad, I’m eating every last piece!

I’m currently giving up, well maybe postponing is a better work, on dieting. Not forever, but for the next few weeks.  Maybe when I return from Alaska I’ll find time to exercise.   Time has gotten the better of me, well that and my love of sleeping and not getting up to exercise, and the fact its been too cold or bad weather to walk at lunch.  Okay enough with the excuses, I just haven’t been motivated to do it.  End of story.

The Sweetest Face

The Sweetest Face

Is this not the sweetest face on the planet earth.  Oh how I wish I was at home snuggling that beast.  He can always make me feel better.

Django snuggles like this too, but as soon as you get the camera he moves like the wind and you can’t catch him in snuggle mode.  Although Django doesn’t snuggle quite as intensely as Abner.  Abner will lay there for hours and hours while Django lasts about 15 minutes, then moves on. 

I still haven’t figured out what I’m going to take for airplane knitting.  I have nothing small on the needles, besides countless sock orphans, but I don’t want to knit socks.  I’m sure I’ll figure it out in the coming week and a half.  Maybe I’ll knit a hat to wear while I’m in Alaska when I’m on the plane to  Alaska and on the plane home I’ll knit with the Quivit I intend to purchase. 

Well I’m off to finish my salad, so I can eat those chocolates.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Daunting Task Ahead

  1. Sydney says:

    No exercising here either. I think all of our exercise mojos have run off to the Carribean. 😉 Those chocolates look wonderful. I can’t blame you for eating them all.

  2. Kelly says:

    oi!! Thats making my head spin just looking at that coned yarn and casting on 740 sts???? *hurls* you have more gumption than I do !!!
    Good luck!

  3. lobstah says:

    Wow, look at all that yarn. I think you are officially the “crazy lady”–lol, just kidding! I can’t wait to see what you knit up.

  4. Sonya says:

    That is a good boss! It’s so hard to exercise this time of year. I started Weight Watchers online a couple weeks ago. The points system helps make it like a game. So far, so good, but I know exercise will have to be part of the picture soon. Casting on 740 stitches? Ouch.

  5. Li_B says:

    Such soulful eyes, I love those pictures.

  6. Carrie K says:

    Those are some mad calculating skilz! Go, Rebekah! They’re all going to be beautiful but my head crunched when I saw all those cones of yarn.

    I exercised yesterday. Today I ate like there was no such thing as calories. Hmmm.

    Whatever you take to knit on the plane, take a self addressed stamped envelope to put it in, just in case.

  7. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- 3 years worth of knitting? OMG.

    Bring back some nice Quiviut for yourself.

  8. Jennifer says:

    I’d be overwhelmed with that box of yarn/projects! All I can say is do many small projects in between working on the bedspreads and you’ll be fine.

  9. Chris says:

    I can relate about the exercise. 🙂

    Casting on 700+ stitches. Oy…

    Oh yeah, the needle size thing – I have a nifty needle gauge from KnitPicks that has all the size variations on it – very cool and VERY handy.

  10. Agnes says:

    740 stitches cast on? I feel like knitting 4 rows and I’m done for the day … seriously! LOL!

  11. Sarah Katie says:

    The week before last I had a bunch of snow days, late starts and such so it was really easy to exercise, but last week and this week have just been bad, I can’t seem to motivate myself to get on the treadmill. I’m not saying that I’m dieting or anything. I just feel soooo much better when I go on a 30 minute walk/run.

  12. Angel says:

    Love scrunchy Abner-face!!!

    Have a blast in Alaska!

    And when I don’t feel like working out I just try to walk everywhere I can. I figure some exercise is better than nothing. But it is cold. It has been frightfully cold here.

    And that my dear, is a lot of yarn…..

Leave a Reply

