Mitered Diamond Bag

Another Finished Object! Can you believe it.  But this will be it for a while, well with the exception of probably a Dale of Norway Hat I plan to knit out of KNit Picks Swish while I’m on planes next week. 

This is the Mitered Diamond Bag designed by Krisit Schueler and available in Interweave Felt 2008. 

Mitered Diamond Bag Pre-Felting

Mitered Diamond Bag Pre-Felting

I had never done mitered squares before so this was a new skill for me, and I must say, I absolutely love this bag.  The design is ingenious, you only have to sew two little teeny tiny seams and you have a purse, then you knit a 5-stitch I-Cord handle.  I decided to use scraps of wool yarn, which you need about a 1/2 ounce for each square for.  So I have a very colorful bag.  If you decide to knit more of a patterned bag the pattern calls for 4 colors of wool, Cascade 220 is what it was designed in.  I have Cascade 220, Fisherman Wool from Lion’s Brand, some Cherry Tree Hill Wool, and some Lamb’s Pride Wool in this bag.  I was worried it might not felt well with the different types, but took a chance, and it turned out wonderful.  I felted it on SUnday. 

Mitered Diamond Bag Felted
Mitered Diamond Bag Felted

It is absolutely the perfect size bag.  Now yesterday at work, at lunch, since it was snowing, I decided to start another one.  I will make one and only one change to this bag, I will knit some type of closure strap for it.  That is my only complaint, and I could add a snap or something to it, which I may do.  Well, I take it back, there was one other complaint, all those ends to weave in! But I tried weaving them in as best as I could when I knit it, and then trimmed them very crudely, as it was being felted, and it turned out fine.

It is absolutely huge.  In fact it is so huge that I could have put Django in it.  I tried, but he was having none of that.
Real Dogs Don't Fit in Purses Mommy
Real Dogs Don’t Fit in Purses Mommy

Now Django is the one that came up with that caption, he is a bit prejudiced against little dogs. 

We actually had snow in St. Louis! We received 8 inches in the last two days.  Its prepping me for next weeks trip to Alaska.
Have a great day, I’m going to find some time to play in the snow. 
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mitered Diamond Bag

  1. Chris says:

    Your bag of many colors is fun! That’s one of the things I like about felting – you don’t have to be perfect with the ends. Have fun in Alaska!

  2. Carrie K says:

    I love that bag!! Yours looks fabulous.

  3. Sydney says:

    What a cute bag! I’m always amazed at the transformation knitting has when it’s felted. We had a few flakes of snow but nothing that hung around long.

  4. Agnes says:

    That looks like a fun bag to make and carry!

  5. Kat says:

    I’m glad you thought outside the box and used your own crazy colors. See you can be artsy. I wanted Terry to go buy me wool while he was in town so that I could make one, can you believe he didn’t want too!

  6. CatMyers says:

    Cool bag, Rebekah! Enjoy your snow!

  7. Christy says:

    I love Django’s caption – very funny!
    That bag is adorable and I can imagine making one and then making others as gifts. But that would take me forever, so for now I’m sticking to hats and scarves.

Leave a Reply

