Qivuit On the Hoof

There were many things we hoped for our trip to Alaska, my mom wanted to see the Northern Lights.  Unfortunately the conditions were not accommodating and we did not see them.  Another grea hope for all of us was to see a moose.  And I of course wanted to see a musk ox.  The last two wishes were granted.  I’ll tell you the moose stories in another post, but this post is all about musk ox. 

The only part of going to Alaska in February that I regret is that the Large Animal Research Facility at the University of Fairbanks is not open during the winter.  Otherwise I absolutely loved going to Alaska in winter. But I sure would have liked seeing these guys more up close.  instead I had my fairly high powered zoom on my Digital SLR to aid in seeing them a little better.

Musk Ox at Large Animal Research Center

Musk Ox at Large Animal Research Center

NOne of my other family members were as excited as I was to see these guys in the flesh. Now I can’t wait to make the Musk Ox Slippers that are on Knitty right now.  I have a musk ox t-shirt and a musk-ox stuffed animal from my trip.  I think slippers are a necessity. I just need to find time in my insane anniversary knitting to make something like that.  But until then, its back to the knitting as I don’t have time to break. 

another quick thing about the Qivuit is this.  The Anchorage Airport is rather small, there’s not much to do or see there, and really only one wing (although there is more under construction).  The one interesting thing there was a display about Quivit.  I took a ton of pictures. 

Qivuit Display

Qivuit Display

Have a good rest of the week!
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Qivuit On the Hoof

  1. Sonya says:

    They look positively prehistoric, don’t they? Very cool.

  2. Sydney says:

    They are interesting looking beasts, aren’t they? Maybe you can squeeze in a little musk ox slipper knitting in between your anniversary knitting.

  3. Chris says:

    They are huge!

  4. Kat says:

    It’s hard to explain to non yarnaholics the excitement of seeing a fiber beasty.

  5. Angel says:

    Okay- I love those slippers on knitty and I think you totally need to make them.

    the musk oxes themselves are really nifty looking animals.

  6. Agnes says:

    Qivuit! Luxury item!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- All that fiber walking around. That’s so cool!

  8. Cathi Myers says:

    Boy that looks COLD! I bet they grow lots of good fluffy undercoat for us to covet in that weather. I really don’t know anything about these beasties – are they native to Alaska?

  9. Carrie K says:

    What is *wrong* with your family? How could they not be excited? lol.

    Nice pix!!!

  10. Jennifer says:

    I love the Quivuit on the hoof. Cool!

Leave a Reply

