Is That A Moose In Your Yard?

My parents have longed to see a moose for I’d say approximately 15 years.  Maybe more.  They went to Alaska 7 years ago, shortly after my niece was born. While they drove extensively in the wilderness of Alaska, hoping and most likely praying to see a moose, they saw none.  So a few years later, they went to Canada and travelled to campground after campground, in hopes of seeing a moose.  Yet none never showed themselves to my parents.  In fact it was believed there was a moose conspiracy to prevent them from moose spotting.  Alas, our trip to Alaska came and we hoped and possibly even prayed to see a moose.  But there were no guarantees.  I, the endearing baby daughter plotted to bring a plastic moose on the trip and place it suspiciously in a pile of snow outside our room so they’d at least see a plastic one.  But in the end it wasn’t needed.

While in Alaska we stayed at Wedgewood Resort in Fairbanks.  Its acutally an old apartment complex, that they’ve converted to a hotel/resort.  They have a new section too that was specifically built for the resort.  But it is closed in winter.  During winter their prices are great, we stayed in what was a 1-bedroom apartment, with large living room, dining room, kitchen, bathroom, a huge walk-in closet, etc. for $70 a night.  Normally during their peak tourist season it would have been upwards of $300.  Its a nice little place, and there’s some wooded areas nearby.  In fact right behind our room.  You see where this is going. 

The first night there we teased mom and dad, that there were moose in the little area between the two buildings directly outside our apartment.  Ha ha, we laughed and had good fun at their expense.  The next morning, my brother and niece showed up to take dad and I (mom was feeling ill) on a drive around the wilderness of Alaska and up into the moutain region.  Dad went to look out the window, and stopped and said there are two moose bedded down inbetween the buildings.  Of course we thought he was joking, my dad does love to joke.  But he was not joking, and for the first time of at least 3 times that trip we saw moose.  In fact a mother and her calf.  Mama and baby moose.

Next we saw them on the way to dinner one night. 

And then finally on our way home from our dog sled ride we saw two moose on the edge of the woods on the road from Chena Springs to Fairbanks.

Moose in the Wood

Moose in the Wood

So the trip to Alaska was a mere success based only on moose sightings.  And mom and dad’s lifelong quest to find a moose has ended.Now I’m sure they are on the quest of elephants, as this December they head to South Africa.
The 40th Anniversary Bedspread is coming along quicker this 24 rows.  I have only 3 rows left, and am at 2 weeks tomorrow.  And I didn’t get to knit for 4 days in the last 2 weeks due to insanity at work.  So I’m encouraged that things are going quicker, if at least by a little.
Of course I forgot to tell you about the most exciting part, there was film being made on the plane on our way home.   The the little known sequel to “Snakes on a Plane”…..”Moose on a Plane”.  much harder to film, as they keep hitting their heads on the overhead compartments.
Have a good weekend. 

Moose on a Plane

Moose on a Plane

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Is That A Moose In Your Yard?

  1. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I have never personally seen a Moose- but you have to live up north to increase the odds of a sighting. I do know many people who have had their cars destroyed by hitting one, or a deer.

    They are HUGE!

  2. Chris says:

    Having been in a car that almost hit a moose, they are huge. Eeep! Hee hee – I read your title as “Is that a moose in your yarN?”

  3. Jeanne says:

    I’m not sure I’d want to see something that big – but love the pictures!

  4. Sydney says:

    Chris is right. Moose are huge. Even baby moose are big. One time when I was backpacking (years ago), I had one come right up to me. Course if you’re that big, I guess you don’t have to be afraid of much. 🙂

  5. Sonya says:

    Moose really are fascinating critters, aren’t they? Very cool that you guys got to see them!

  6. Agnes says:

    Mooses are so huge and powerful … and sometimes they are get aggressive … so I think I am a bit afraid of them. Although I haven’t seen a live one ever! 🙂

  7. Li_B says:

    I used to feel that way about bears. Now we see them often.

    They look so comfy in the snow.

  8. Carrie K says:

    It’s good to have a dream realized – I’d love to see a moose. And a bear. (Safely). LOL about the plastic moose!

Leave a Reply

