Always the Sweet; Often the Evil

I’ve been spending a lot of time at my desk (at work) working diligently on legal documents, but many times lately the work does not take my entire capcity of brain space, merely a presence of being and an attention to some level of detail.  This leave a portion of my brain, I believe the right-side, to be involved in interesting thought development about the logistics of life and knitting.  I have been thinking a lot about my dogs as well, probably because I miss them and I believe they miss me as I’ve been working so much overtime.  I dwell on my knitting, how many rows can I get in tonight? If I did “ssk” instead of “k2tog” would it result in a better looking leaf? and other things along this same vein of conscious thought. 

In the last few weeks we’ve determined the following: 1) Abner will always be sweet, pure sweet, there is a most endearing quality about his character.  You know you can always depend on him to confort you when you need it and to love you unconditionally. 

Pure Sweetness

Pure Sweetness

2) Django on the other hand can be sweet.  But he is quite the character.  The moment you walk home, he’s leaping for joy that you’ve at least returned to him.  If you are late coming home, he holds a vigil at the front window peering out waiting your arrival.  Always the comic, he smiles and talks to you to let you know his thoughts on life.  

img_0771

 But yet somewhere behind that funny face, there is lurking a bully, an always vigilant wolf watching the horizon on the look out for his next dinner.  We were playing in the backyard last weekend, and we watched our Django drink from the water bucket, he drank very daintly as we observed he constantly had his eyes on the world around him, waiting to see what might sneak up on him at a vulnerable moment.  He is our little wolf.

And just when you don’t expect it.  The evil comes out! 
Evil!
Evil!

Okay, he’s not evil, but he sure is funny!

“My what big fangs you have there Django”
“Better to eat Frosty Paws with”. Django replies. 
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Always the Sweet; Often the Evil

  1. Cathi says:

    Such a character that Django! Love his smile! There was a wire haired German pointer named “Alice” at the kennel where I used to board Daisy – and “Alice” smiled too. It was the most comical thing. The lady said “Alice, did you eat that WHOLE BAG of cookies?” And “Alice” just GRINNED. There’s a picture on Wikipedia of a dog like “Alice.” Imagine the grin! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/German_Wirehaired_Pointer

  2. kelly says:

    ohhhh frosty paws moolee and boss love them but they stopped selling them here 😦
    Django and Boss would be partners in crime me thinks, and moolee and abner would just sit on the couch and watch it all take place 🙂

  3. Jeanne says:

    Isn’t it funny how much personality dogs have – and how different it is? We have three, and I think its funny sometimes. We have a lab mix that sounds very much like Abner – he’s just so sweet and lovable. I love the pictures – and the doggy smiles!

  4. Samantha says:

    Evil or not, he’s one gorgeous pup! 🙂 Both he and Abner are. I lost your email address, can you give it to me again. s.rogers@rogers.com Thanks. 🙂

  5. Chris says:

    Hmm. I wonder if you could listen to audiobooks with that unoccupied bit of your brain…

  6. Sonya says:

    Django is such a character. Kevin had a dog when we met that could turn evil on a dime. He chewed up a pair of my glasses one morning while I was in the shower. When I called Kevin at work to rant, he asked, “Well, what did you do to him?” He was a dog that held a grudge.

    Abner looks like he’s mellow pretty much all the time. What a sweetie!

  7. Mrs MJW says:

    We used to have a dog who would make faces like that at all males. Now we have a big lug of a great pyrenees who has a brain the size of a peanut, but thankfully a big heart.

  8. Angel says:

    LOL- love the “frosty paws” reference!!!!

    Chloe is a lot like Abner- always a sweetie, but her cat Milo, now he’s a character. He can be sweet one moment and sourpuss the next!

Leave a Reply

