Time to Get Reaquainted

I have a day and an hour and a half I need to take before the end of June, for vacation time.  I can’t really go anywhere, so I didn’t know what I’d do.  I figured I’d better actually take the time off, as I work so much overtime taking time off sometimes seems like the absolute luxury.  Then I received my most recent issue of Spin Off.  I must admit, I haven’t spun yarn in probably 2 years.  well, it as at least been over a year.  I was flipping through the magazine, when I realized, that is exactly what my day of luxury should be, I day I get reaquainted with my wheel.

So that is exactly what I’m going to do.  This weekend Nick will be off “jamming” with his buddy Joe.   So I’m going to do several things: 

  1. Go Clearance Shopping at Kohl’s, because I have a coupon for an extra 30% off of whatever I buy, and I need to buy some new work pants.  And I need a pair of tennis shoes and brown sandals.
  2. Clean out my closet.
  3. Knit
  4. Prepare my spinning wheel and fiber for spinning extravaganza.
Perfect Rythmn

Perfect Rythmn

While we were setting up Nick’s kit at our friends’ house, their little girl, had to help out.  She has perfect rythmn!  We didn’t notice it until later, but after the set-up Nick and his friend were jamming, this little one picked up one of NIck’s other percussion intruments, and we could hear her playing it in the background, she was in perfect synch with Nick and her dad.  She’s not quite 3!  A musician in the making no doubt.

Basil The Tunneler

Basil The Tunneler

 

Last but not least a picture of my Basil.  He loves to hide in blankets and tunnel through them.  For some odd reason this is fun, we had to finally put a grate down in the bottom of his cage, as he was going under the paper and tunnelling through it, and then shredding the paper and throwing it outside of his cage. 

So now he just gets to tunnel in blankets.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Time to Get Reaquainted

  1. Carrie K says:

    Basil is adorable. Chaos was doing that in a blanket. Tunneling is IN!

    I would love a day off spent at home, preferably w/o a crushing headache. It sounds perfect.

  2. Christy says:

    To all of Rebekah’s fans: I made my donation! I’m challenging you to make a donation too!
    Christy

  3. Sonya says:

    That sounds like an excellent weekend!

  4. Sydney says:

    Ah sweet Basil. Cute pic! Enjoy you weekend. A spinning extravaganza for your day off sounds perfect.

  5. Jeanne says:

    Sounds like an excellent weekend – have fun!

  6. Robin says:

    Cute picture of Basil! Maybe he has ferret tendencies!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- My son plays drums. The kit takes up alot of space- and the guys come over here to jam, because a guitar travels easier. Something to consider.

    There’s Basil- he’s so cute!

  8. Agnes says:

    Have to be very careful when he is tunneling then … for a clumsy person like me would sit or lie on him and crush the little thing.

  9. Lifesastitch says:

    What a sweet birdie, his personality really comes through in that picture.

    • rebekahsyarn says:

      He is a goofball. I love it when he’s in his room watching TV as he sings along to the programs. I always know when Elmo’s World is on Sesame Street because he’s in there singing, la la la la la la la. (Elmo’s world tune).

  10. Jennifer says:

    I need to get reacquainted with my wheel too! What a great way to spend a weekend.

  11. Cathi says:

    I recently did some spinning too! Must be in the wind. Not sure there’s enough there to do one whole project with though. Have some alpaca waiting to be spun up. It’s sooooooo soft.

Leave a Reply

