Plans Never Go as Planned

Why is it that plans never work out as one intends?   So I was supposed to take tomorrow off and become reacquainted with my spinning wheel, but instead I got sick over last weekend with a cold, had to miss Monday of work because I had a fever, and decided I didn’t want to take any more time just to get reacquainted with my wheel.  But alas, all was not lost, last weekend after I cleaned up my wheel, I couldn’t resist and started spinning, and have done a little each day since.  And then, I decided another fun project, while I was avoiding knitting the bedspread, was to start making myself a Dr. Who scarf with my homespun.  100So I hunted down my previously spun yarn from the same batches of roving and started the scarf.  And I finished up two bobbins of single plies, and I plied the batches together last night.  So the yarn in the spokes of the wheel are my newly spun yarn.  I say this is a Dr. Who scarf because I intend to make it over 20 feet long.  I’m using a color sample bundle of roving I purchased ages ago from Paridise Fibers and plying it with some nice cream.  The effect kind of reminds me of fruit stripe gum.  I should have taken a closer pictre of the yarn, but alas I didn’t.  I always envision taking this gorgeous artistic photos.  I never do.

049

I attempted, not so well, in this picture to show you how Django often sleeps, with all his paws together in a pile.  And usually his ears are pointed directly up when he’s relaxed and when he’s awake they flop over.  He is backward boy.  Well its time to get back to the Dr. Who scarf, while I avoid for one more day the bedspread.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Plans Never Go as Planned

  1. Sydney says:

    Well you need something fun like a Dr. Who scarf while you’re working on the bedspread.

  2. Chris says:

    I hope you’re feeling a lot better!

  3. Agnes says:

    Yeah … to-do list usually fails most of the time. That’s why I keep a monthly goal to keep track … at least to know what works and what doesn’t! 🙂
    Nice weekend to you.

  4. Carrie K says:

    Paw piles are so cute.

    Hope you’re feeling better! A Dr Who scarf sounds like the perfect antidote to some of that challenging knitting you’ve got on your plate.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Oh no! I hope you feel better. That is a super cute picture of Django

  6. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Casey sleeps like that- as if someone took a stop-motion picture of her running.

    That’s a lovely wheel.

  7. Brigitte says:

    Sometimes I find Gandalf sleeping like that as well! So funny… 😀

    I always envision the best pictures as well – and I usually never have my camera ready when the opportunity comes up!

  8. Cathi says:

    Fun fibery goodness there, Rebekah! Nice Django cuteness too! Hope you’re feeling better from the cold. That scarf looks like FUN and will be great to wear this winter.

  9. Jeanne says:

    Sorry you were sick – and hope you are feeling better now. Love the new scarf – great colors!

  10. Robin says:

    I love pictures of sleeping animals. They can get in the most creative positions!

Leave a Reply

