In Honor of Agnes and Christy

Thank you both so much for contributing to teh Walk to Defeat ALS.  I met Christy for lunch today and delivered her my thank you gift, a copy of Suss Cousins Knitting for Your Home.  It has some neat patterns in it, I think she’ll at least like looking at, if not making.  I am attempting to convert her to a full-blown knitter, we worked together and she just was so sick of me talking about knitting she gave it a try herself!

Agnes, I’m pulling together a yarny gift for you, so could you please e-mail me your address so I can mail out your yarny prize. 

For several years I’ve watched and loved seeing Agnes knit the Great American Aran Afghan, and several other similar type projects.  I finally couldn’t take it any longer and broke down and bought the pattern, as well as the Great Northern American Afghan.  I already owned the one she’s currently knitting up, however I’ve never knit it.

"Its Bedtime Right"
“Its Bedtime Right”

So I decided I’d frog my Diamonds & Lace afghan I’ve been occassionally working on for Nick and I, and start the Great American Aran Afghan.  I think I’m just procrastinating the bedspread as I know there is no way I’ll be done with it my July, 2010.   I really should work on my sister’s afghan too, but I’m just taking a little time right now for me.

I’ve been working so hard on my body, by the way 16 pounds down, that I need to have a little treat for myself.
Django is always waiting to go to bed.  At night, around 7:30 p.m., he heads to the bed and waits there for us.  He loves bedtime.  We think the poor guy must have been tied up outside when he was a puppy, because he sure loves his household comforts.  Well that and when we put him on the lead in the back yard, he acts like he was born on it, knowing exactly what to do, and not to pull on it, etc.
Well back to the knitting!
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In Honor of Agnes and Christy

  1. Chris says:

    Congrats on the weight loss! Wow. You are my hero!

  2. Sydney says:

    Congrats on losing 16 pounds! That’s a great accomplishment.

    A little “me time” is important now and then.

  3. Jeanne says:

    Congrats on the 16 pounds – that’s great!

  4. Brigitte says:

    Oh, that’s great news – 16 lbs! Excellent!

    I would just love to snuggle with Django…What a sweetie pie.

  5. Carrie K says:

    Congratulations to Agnes and Christy and to you for walking. I completely spaced it. Gah.

    Django is so cute! I’ll bet he loves bedtime now, if he was outside before.

    Yay for the pounds lost! Good plan for the afghan. Sometimes projects just aren’t what we want when we cast on.

  6. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Wow- that’s an impressive loss. Good for you!

  7. Samantha says:

    Aww. Dozer is jealous. He’s not allowed on the bed (or any furniture for that matter). I love the G.A.A.A. pattern. I bought it a few years ago and never did it. I should! It would be fun.

  8. Sonya says:

    Congrats on your 16 pounds! GAAA will be good summer knitting, and it’s gorgeous to boot.

  9. Agnes says:

    16 lbs! That’s great achievement! I worked my ass off for 6 months and am only about 2 lbs down … I know that’s different for everybody and if I am 16 lbs down suddenly, I would probably look sick … but still, I would like to get rid of 10 lbs. Will be back to the gym tomorrow! 🙂
    I am really eager to see your afghan projects. Honestly, the American afghan series are fun projects. I am now working on the edging for GAA and I can’t wait to start the North American one. Most probably I would still use Wool Ease but follow the colour scheme as it is really lovely.
    Thank you so much for the yarn gift … I would send my address to you after this.

  10. Cathi says:

    Way to go on the weight loss!

Leave a Reply

