Unfaithful

I bow my head in shame, infidelity has become my curse.  I for a short time was very faithful to the projects laid before me.  Knowing precisely at which stage each one was at.  I held firm and would not cast on a stitch.  But then I did need to knit the panda hat, I had promised for years to make a hat for Violet and had not yet done so.  And I needed a car project so making a square here or there for the Great American Aran Afghan seemed like a step of love for the sake of knitting and not cheating on the bedspread and the afghan.  Then I really felt that I should be true, at least a little, to my spinning and do something with at least some of the yarn that I had so lovingly spun, so the fake Dr. Who scarf had to be started.  Then I received my Fall IK and just couldn’t stop thinking about those socks, and that wrap.  I knew that they had to be knit at least at some point in my life.  I went yarn diving last night and found the sock yarn to make the Bandelier Socks and found some yarn I think the shawl would look lovely in, and I just couldn’t help myself and cast on for the socks.

No matter how hard I try to control my whims, it just doesn’t work! I have fallen so far away from project fidelity that I’m not sure I can come back.  My list or projects in progress:

  1. 40th 50th Wedding Anniversary Bedspread
  2. 50th Wedding Anniversary Rose of England Tablecloth (still need to actually cast on – but I have 3 years)
  3. 25th Anniversary Afghan (about 1/5 done)
  4. Log Cabin Afghan
  5. Great American Aran Afghan
  6. Fake Dr. Who Scarf
  7. Bandelier Socks
  8. Every Way Wrap (not actually cast on)
  9. Cora’s Winter Hat

This isn’t even including the works in progress that I’ve long since abandoned. 

  1. Owl Socks – one done, one partially done
  2. Flame Socks – not sure where I left off on these – probably will frog at this point not even sure what the pattern was.
  3. A Wrap from Twists & Turns that I was knitting with my homespun.
  4. A vest (I’ll be frogging this)
  5. Other odds and end socks (all need frogged)
  6. Sweater of Insanity (I’m gonna frog it)
  7. Probably some other things I can’t remember.

But you know what, knitting is my pleasure not my work and thus I don’t care.  I can have a million prjoects and work on whatever I deem worthwhile at the time.  My knitting time has become so minimal that when I do knit I need to knit on something I want to work on because otherwise it isn’t joyful.  So the more projects the merrier. 

The sweetest Puppy in the World - Abner at 7 Weeks Old

The sweetest Puppy in the World - Abner at 7 Weeks Old

Is there anything cuter then a 7-week old labrador puppy.

I found a lot of old pictures as I was going through discs and consolidating them onto a hard drive, thought I’d share an oldy of my baby Abner.

So today at lunch, instead of walking because I’ve apparently pulled a litle muscle in my leg, and it looks like its gonna storm, I’m going to work on my Bandelier Socks. 

But then, I’ve lost 30 pounds now, so taking a day off from walking should be fine. 

Toodle Pip.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Unfaithful

  1. Jeanne says:

    Knitting is definitely something that should make you happy so I say cast on for more!

    Congrats on the weight loss – amazing!

    Abner was such a cutie!

  2. Sydney says:

    Congrats on the weight loss!

    That’s such a sweet picture of Abner.

    I say knit whatever you enjoy. Course I have a lot of my own unfinished projects.

  3. Samantha says:

    Great job on the weightloss! To date I’ve lost 48 pounds and am currently at my goal weight. I’ve decided though I am not happy with my goal weight and would like to lose 5-10 more pounds. Keep up the good work!! 🙂

    Infidelity can be forgiven.

    Abner was an adorable puppy. So sweet. We’re getting another black lab when Dozer is around 2-3 years old. That’s a long way to go considering he’s only 4 months. LOL

  4. Mrs MJW says:

    Thank you so much for the congrats. That sure is quite a list of projects. That adorable little puppy must be very understanding. 😉

  5. Carrie K says:

    Look at that darling puppy! and he grew up into such a handsome dog too.

    Congrats on the 30%!

  6. Agnes says:

    I agree … knitting is pleasure, so don’t put too much guilt into it.
    That photo put a great smile on my husband’s face!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I so agree, there is no room for guilt in knitting. And well done on your weight loss.

  8. Angel says:

    I have about as many projects as you and I am trying to finish up the afghan for my friend who is ill and upteen baby projects…. so I totally understand your feelings on the project fidelity.

    Puppies are just too cute. Love the Abner photo.

  9. Brigitte says:

    Nope, no room for guilt AT ALL. As a matter of fact, you are an inspiration to those of us who do wallow in guilt. So, I’m going to toss guilt out the window, and START SOMETHING NEW because I’m bored, dammit!

    Oh Abner, you are a doll. No wonder you are such a handsome lad, look at you as a puppy!

  10. Sonya says:

    OK, Abner may be the cutest puppy EVER! I’m the same way with multiple projects. Like you said, it’s not our job, it’s our hobby.

    Congratulations on your 30 lbs.!! I think it’s a lot easier to diet and exercise when there are visible results.

  11. Robin says:

    30 LBS! WOWSER! That’s terrific! Wish I could do it. Any tips? I have a terrible time losing weight. The Abner and Django pictures (this post and the one later) are so cute.

Leave a Reply

