Randomness

Do you ever feel that you have so much to say and absolutely nothing to say at the same time?  That is how I’ve felt lately.  Of course I have a cold right now and my head is completely congested, so I’m not processing thoughts very well.  But anyway, that is all besides the point. 

I haven’t been posting much because while I feel like I have so much to talk about, the truth is I don’t.  Life is pretty mundane.  I get up, work out (except for this week with the cold), go to work, take a walk, work the rest of the day, go home and either go on a bike ride, go to my church meeting, or knit.  We haven’t been bike riding as much in the evening though as the days have been full enough and we have other things to do in the evening.  I need to start a regimen of cleaning each night when I get home too.  I’m trying to pretend I’m an adult.  But when there is always so much to do, but yet its the same exact thing, it leaves me feeling like I’m bubbling forth with things to say, but yet when I try to say them they are extremely boring.

Nick and I did recently go on vacation, last week.  Nothing to grand as with everyone finances are tight, but we went to Iowa and saw my family.  We visited several places I used to go as a child and loved. 

Motor Mill, Elkader, IA

Motor Mill, Elkader, IA

One being Motor Mill.  This mill operated from 1869 through 1880.  It is thought to be the tallest structure of its kind in the Midwest from that time period.  When I was little you could get into it from a copule of passages down by the water, but they have since been closed up and its now actually looked after by the State.  They are in the process of restoration.  I used to love going there as a kid, as because of the little passageways we would get into it, I figured they must have been secret passageways and was convinced it was used in the Underground Railroad.  Obviously now as an adult I know it wasn’t, but the romantic notion of secret passageways is still a favorite of mine.

On our vacation we also did some bike riding.  We rode 45 miles on the Katy Trail in Missouri.  Next year we plan to ride the entire trail which is about 225 miles long.  But that won’t be until SEptember 2010. 

Hopefully by then I’ll be in a size I’ll stay in and can purchase some actual biking clothing.  Its so expensive I refuse to buy any until I’m at a size I’ll stay at.

Biking the Katy Trail

Biking the Katy Trail

Nick would kill me if he knew I posted this picture, so shhhhh please don’t tell on me!

We intended to do another 46 mile ride on Saturday, which was supposed to be absolutely beautiful, but of course we woke up to thunderstorms.  By afternoon it had started to clear off and I had started to get sick.  But Sunday morning I was feeling absolutely horrible.  I’m on the mend now though, still stuffed up but that is to be expected.

I also took the opportunity to start a “i’m going to be thin someday sweater”.  I casted on for Elizabeth from Tudor Roses.  I’m using Lavold’s Silky Wool in a “light pink” color.  Which you can’t tell is pink at all.  I’m about half way done with either the front or the back of the sweater (they are identical).  Once I finish the first piece I’ll take a picture and post it, as right now its really hard to get a picture as its all scrunched on a straight needle.  I’m really enjoying the knitting of it though and look forward to wearing it maybe even this winter. 

The dogs went to Nick’s parents while we were at my parents.  They always enjoy their time there, but apparently barely relaxed while were were gone.  Once we came back to them though, they slept for days. 

Is this a Cat or a Dog?

Is this a Cat or a Dog?

 

Nick finally got a picture of Django in his super tight curl position.  I swear he was raised by cats.

Abner loves anything with a pillow

Abner loves anything with a pillow

And ABner just loves anything with a pillow attached.

Well that is about all, I will have knitting pictures here eventually.  Although as you have undoubtedly noticed posting is rare and infrequent.  And probably will stay that way for a while.  I considered shutting the blog down again, but figured you know its free and I can blog when I want and not when I don’t feel like it. 

With that all done, I’ll say toddle-pip and start thinking of other things to say that I’ll never actually say.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Randomness

  1. Jeanne says:

    Sounds like a great vacation – I can’t believe how many miles you bike!

    Hope you are feeling better!

  2. Kat says:

    You never know, Motor Mill, might have hidden slaves. There is a cemetery fairly near there where former slaves are buried.

  3. Cathi says:

    Beautiful pictures! Love the kids sleeping spots. I’m having the same problem with my blog(s). Figure it’s just a summer thing and once summer is done there will be more time for blogging and knitting.

  4. Sydney says:

    That’s such a beautiful picture of the mill. If you’re riding 45 miles, you’re doing very well with your bikes!

    I think we all struggle with what to write about on our blogs.

  5. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Sounds like a lovely vacation- too bad about your cold.

    I struggled so much with my blog that I thought it was time to say goodbye. Things change, and that’s a good thing.

  6. janna says:

    45 miles on your bike? That would kill me!

    And please don’t shut down the blog – I only just found you again!

  7. Sonya says:

    Sounds like a lovely vacation! You guys are really putting the miles on the bikes too. I can’t wait to see your Elizabeth! Django and Abner are such cuties. Our Lucy likes that circular position so she can tuck her nose under her tail.

  8. Lifesastitch says:

    Sometimes I feel like assuming Django’s position under my desk at work.

  9. Lorette says:

    It looks like a fun trip! Riley sleeps all curled up like that. Lewey, on the other hand, sleeps on his back with his legs splayed way out.

Leave a Reply

