How to Entertain Oneself in Hectic Times

Yesterday, Wendy posted a picture of her desk at work.  And it made me think, why not.  Its where I spend what seems to be 90% of my life.  Why not share with all of you, how I entertain myself at work, when I’d rather be at home knitting. 

IMG_1487

Corner of my Desk

Let me explain what you are seeing….

  • My screen which I love as its huge, on the right of my screen a post-it to remind me to do something, and on the bottom left-hand corner an inspirational quote to motivate me to continue on weight loss.
  • You’ll see my two huge cup of pens, including a sonic scredriver pen, several chicken pens, I even have a man weight-lifting pen, on a spool pen.  I really like funky pens.
  • My bottle of Gloves in a Bottle.
  • My green travel coffee mug.
  • My wireless keyboard and mouse – in my book an essential.
  • A picture of me thin, accompanied by my in-laws and my husband.  You can’t see in this picture but I have a picture of my sister and brother on the other wall.
  • My funky parrot Tervis Tumbler.
  • My black sharpie – a must have.
  • And to the lower lef-thand corner of my screen you’ll see what looks like a red ball.  Its a huge ball of wax.  Here I’ll show you a close up of it.
IMG_1425

Babybel Ball of Wax 4" Circumfrence

  • Ball of Wax 4″ in CircumfranceYou may wonder why I have a huge ball of wax.  Well see everyday since I started trying to get healthy I’ve eaten a Babybel Light piece of cheese.  And you know how they each come individually wrapped in wax.  Well, I start gathering the wax together, soon it became a ball the size of a golf ball, then it grew and grew.  And now for entertainment I’m seeing how large I can make my grand ball of Babybel wax.

This week I have been able to steal a few moments away from work at lunch to knit.  We have an abandoned office, well an office no longer in use, that you now have to walk through a filing room to get to, so a group of us have taken it over for lunches. IMG_1470

 Those moments will be far and few between the next few weeks, but I hope this weekend I can make some good progress on the vest so I can at least finish it by the end of November.

IMG_1483
Abner wishing it was the weekend

The dogs don’t like it when we are not home ontime, but they get used to it.  Eventually.

IMG_1485
Water-logged

And we are all a bit water-logged, we’ve had over a foot of rain in October, which is just insane.  I don’t think the ground will dry out till next July.

Have a good weekend! Keep your pets safe.
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How to Entertain Oneself in Hectic Times

  1. celticcaston says:

    Girl you are looking fantastic!!! Can’t wait to see that vest done, I sooo want to start a fair isle garment!
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Chris says:

    I’m glad you explained the mysterious red ball!

  3. Kat says:

    I like the sweater you’re wearing in the knitting picture and I didn’t know about your love of weird pens. I’ll have to remember that.

  4. Jeanne says:

    Thanks for sharing your desk! I’d share mine but I still haven’t brought anything in for mine (its been two years) so its just sorrt of boring. Too funny about the wax ball!

  5. I hadn’t seen Wendy’s post, but today I blogged one of the places I’m spending a fair bit of time lately too! Something must be in the air, LOL!

  6. Carrie K says:

    A foot of rain! Lucky.

    Poor puppy dogs! All alone……….;0

  7. Stephanie says:

    I love seeing your work space! I’ll have to incorporate that idea into a post of my own. The red ball of wax is hilarious! You look great, so whatever you’re doing is obviously working.

  8. Brigitte says:

    My work space is nowhere near as organized! Looking at yours reminds me I really should de-clutter my desk…

    Oh, our pets… A few minutes late and they’re convinced they will forever be alone. 😉

Leave a Reply

