Why Is It Never Easy?

Val Love's Bomber Jacket

No matter what with me, health issues are never easy.  Ovarian cysts, two years to diagnose.  Leg is killing me.  Go to doctor (finally after 6 months), he thinks its a stress fracture on my femur, orders MRI.  MRI doesn’t show a stress fracture but he’s not convinced he sees something on bone that he thinks may indicate it.  So no explanation for pain, but he is sending me to a physical therapist.  And in the meantime he’s going to speak with the radiologist.  Maybe its because I wait so long to go to the doctor that my pain seems irrelevant.  Maybe its because I just don’t know how to communicate well.  Maybe its just because I really in life have not had that many occassions to visit the doctor, so I’m just ill equipped to handle the situations.  Maybe, maybe, maybe, I don’t know, but at least maybe the physical therapist can help me figure out how to exercise so as to not hurt myself any more. 

Ignore the Cleaning Supplies - Guess you Can Tell what I did yesterday

Speaking of easy but not easy.  My bomber jacket.  Its coming along quite nicely.  In fact I’ve finished the outer shell and last night cast on for the inner lining.  It took about 1 week and 5 days to complete.  Pretty good timing, although the inner lining (which is exactly the same thing as the outer shell) will probably take a tad longer as I won’t have a long-weekend of a lot of knitting to aid in the process.  Here are my thoughts on the project so far:

  • The pattern is nice because there are no seams in the end (well except for sewing the outer and inner lining together with an over stitch).  Everything is knit by picking up stitches, etc. 
  • Need 5 billion stitch holders for project. Thankfully I had 4 billion available so I was able to make due.
  • While I’m thrilled there’s no seams to sew in the end, the pattern itself has been a bit perplexing.  I had to rip out a few rows on one side of the jacket because I had read how to do the short rows wrong.  Its taken several reads of the pattern to actually grasp the concept and I’m usually pretty good at deciphering patterns.
  • I love Cascade Eco Wool.  Knits up quickly, nice feel to knit with, although I’m not 100% sure I’d like in a sweater might be a tad itchy for direct skin contact.
  • All in all I’m pleased with the project and am looking forward to the finished project.

In other news, well there isn’t any.  I find myself getting more and more boring the older I become.

Well actually we did go hiking on Friday, despite my gimpy leg, at Pickle Springs in Missouri.  I’ll post a picture or two next time I post.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why Is It Never Easy?

  1. fleegle says:

    I do hope you are feeling better! and I hope your table gets cleaned off, by say, February 🙂 Hope you are a forum member so we can see your progress!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Doctors … don’t even get me started. Ugh. Good luck w/ that nightmare. The bomber jacket is looking good – I’m anxious to see how it works out.

  3. Mr Puffy says:

    Gosh, that leg problem sounds perplexing. Hope that your physical therapist helps work out the kinks and it sounds like good news that nothing major shows up on the tests!

    Your Bomber Jacket is coming along nicely! Whoo Hoo ~ you’ll be wearing it in no time flat.

  4. Kat says:

    Physical therapists are a lot less frustrating than doctors. They are very helpful and practical.

  5. Chris says:

    Ugh – hang in there!! Health stuff that drags on is miserable.

  6. janna says:

    The bomber jacket is so cute! I love Eco Wool, too, but agree it might not work next to the skin. And feel better – the PT should help, although it might hurt at the beginning!

  7. Jeanne says:

    I hope the PT helps – it is very frustrating to go through the whole doctor thing – I hope they figure it out and that it is all ok.

    The bomber jacket is really cute – I just can’t believe how fast you knit!

  8. Robin says:

    TALK with your therapist – really TALK with him/her. They may have some ideas, tips, and/or even give you hints on questions to ask your doctor or things to tell him. I do hope you/they figure this out. Don’t want to be going into 2010 gimpy!

  9. Sydney says:

    Hope the leg stuff gets cleared up soon. I hate when the doctors have trouble reaching a diagnosis.

    I’m anxious to see how the bomber jacket turns out. It looks cute!

Leave a Reply

