A Wee Bluebird

I finally got a few minutes of relaxation on Saturday.  I took the opportunity to watch a movie and knit.  Since I didn’t have my coat with me, I decided to knit the egg/bluebird from Itty Bitty Toys.  I must say first of all i absolutely love the Itty Bitty series.  Her designs are adorable, practical, fun, and so far I’ve never had one problem with her instructions.  So first comes the egg.

First Comes the Egg

 

Then the bluebird.

Then the Bluebird

 

I gave it to the daughter of one of the attorneys I work for.  The mother and adults were much more impressed then the 5 year old.  But I think she was more concerned about seeing mommy this weekend, then caring about a stupid egg. I had fun knitting it though, and really that was the purpose.  I didn’t have time to make the nest.

I have several more of these planned.  The knitting took less the 4 hours for the whole project.  I hope next time it’ll come out a bit better and a  little more bird like.   But for a first attempt, I think it came out fine.  I am going to knit the frog/turtle and the sisters from this book as well.  In fact I foresee a lot of these double toys. I just love them!

I can’t wait, Friday we get to head home for two days.  And hopefully, it seems, like it’ll be two days off, at least for me.  The attorneys have a ton of work to do, but most of my work is done the day before trial, and during the actual trial.  When this is all over I’ll explain more what I’ve been doing.

I so miss my guys.  All 4 of them.  Basil is happy because Nick plays the music really loud when I’m not home.  And Basil loves to rock out.  The dogs, not so much.  But they’ve gotten used to me being gone, and have taken over my side of the bed.  I hope they adjust to me being home for two days and then gone again.  I actually kinda feel guilty about it.  The one attorney I’m out here with, I feel so bad for her as her children are crying to her every night to come home.  They are 5 and 7.  That is a tough age to be away from mommy, especially when mommy typically does everything for them.  I’m worried about her when we come back on Sunday, I hope she can hold up.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Wee Bluebird

  1. Sonya says:

    What an adorable bluebird! I hope you have a nice, restful weekend at home. With all that overtime (!) you need some definite retail yarn therapy.

  2. Chris says:

    Really a cute project! Have a great weekend home.

    • rebekahsyarn says:

      I think I’ll knit it again tomorrow on the plane. Well that is of course if my boss lets me not work for 45 minutes :-). Of course its also only a 45 minute flight from KC to St. Louis.

  3. Mr Puffy says:

    This too shall pass…..being away from home under stressful circumstances is difficult. Your post reminds me of the new George Clooney movie “Up in the Air.” Make no mistake it’s a tough movie to watch, but you might find it interesting.

    Love the wee bluebird and egg 🙂

  4. Cathi says:

    Cute! I’m sure the kids will move over and let you back in the pack!

    • rebekahsyarn says:

      They did indeed, and then had to be touching me the entire time I was home. I feel so guilty leaving them again, but we are at least on the downhill slope of this marathon.

      Rebekah

  5. Jeanne says:

    Very cute bird!

    Have a great weekend home and I’m sure the boys are going to be so happy to see you! I hope this passes quickly and that you are home for good soon…

  6. Stephanie says:

    Cute. I guess I need to check out that book. Have a great weekend at home.

  7. kathy says:

    So glad you got some time to yourself and I hope you enjoy the time at home.

  8. Sydney says:

    Those toys are cute, and the perfect size when you don’t have much time to knit! I hope you had a restful and enjoyable weekend home.

  9. fleegle says:

    That is a cute little bird! And do come back when your brain is clear. You’ll see that you can use the idea for intarsia in-the-round as well!

  10. Brigitte says:

    Aw, what a great little project!

    I can imagine how hard it must be to be away from your boys! I miss them just being away for a weekend. I really hope this time goes by quickly for you.

  11. Robin says:

    I have the Itty Bitty Hats and Toys books and just love everything in them. Gotta try this bluebird! Very cute!

Leave a Reply

