Look! I’m Knilting

Block A - Doesn't it go Well with My Furniture!

Knilting?  Well, the story starts like this.  I fully intend after my incarceration for a month in Kansas City, to come immediately home and finish my bomber jacket.  I only have one sleeve and the second collar to knit, sew it together, put on the buttons and wallah it’ll be done.  But while I was in captivity I succombed to the intense desire to feed my addiction of yarn purchasing due to the fact that I was isolated from everything I love, and purchased the Knitting Traditions Afghan kit from Knit Picks.  When I arrived home on Friday, I took a nap, then Nick came home and in with him came my package from Knit Picks.  I couldn’t resist, I had to just cast on for one of the squares to see if it would be a fun project or if I had been fooling myself.  Well I couldn’t put it down! I finished the first block on Saturday evening and I told myself that I’d start working on my jacket Sunday.  Sunday came, and well since I had knit block A, I figured I should at least see what Block B was like. 

The basis of the desire to knit this afghan, even though I have 3 other afghans on the needles that are in various stages of undone, is that I’ve always wanted to quilt.  But let us be honest, I really am a horrid sewer.  PRobably because I just don’t really enjoy the experience, I expect it to be quick, and yet its not when you quilt and thus I lose my patience for it.  I don’t expect knitting to be quick, and so thus it doesn’t matter to me how long a project takes.  I have the patience, although at times I do wish it was quicker, to knit large projects and I accept the fact it might take me several years to complete it.

Square B

So instead of Quilting, I’m Knilting, and let me tell you its fun!  Although there are a ton of ends to weave in and I have discovered I’m crappy at weaving in ends securely on little teeny tiny pieces, so I’m actually tieing off the ends to each other. I intend, now that I know I can at least sew through knit fabric adequately to make a steek, in the end to actually kinda quilt this top to a fabric bottom and then due little yarn ties in the corners of the squares to secure it the fabric back even more so.

I haven’t finished Square B yet, as I did not have as much time Sunday to knit and the evenings I’ve been knitting rather slow as I’m so beat from the previous 8 weeks.  I do really want to finish up the bomber jacket, and I will, but right now I’m having fun knilting, and I’m not going to feel guilty about that! I intend to make it much larger then the pattern is for, partly because my square is smaller then the pattern says it should be, so instead of 3 across and 5 down I intend to either do 5 across and 7 down or 5 and 5.  Depends on how sick of knitting squares I become in a month or so.

I’m also working on a doll for a friend’s little girl.  But for now I’m knitting little bits and pieces into squares and having a blast.

Would you like to see where I’ve lived the past 4 weeks.  I can honestly say, I hope to never see that room, the hotel, or Kansas City ever again.  While I’m happy to have gained the experience, and an experience like this will look great on my resume, I’m soooooo happy to be home and have life resume its normal equality once again.  The dogs are so happy every night I get home, I think they still think I’m going to leave again for an extended period of time.  I’ve taken the first week of March off, so I look forward to lots of quality time with them and yarn.

A Month Gone

Django did give me a talking to when I got home about how I should never leave again for that long of period.  I agree.

"Mommy - Never Leave Me Again LIke That!"

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Look! I’m Knilting

  1. Chris says:

    Glad that you’re home at long last!!!

    The afghan looks pretty fun! If you’re going to cover the back, maybe you should use FrayCheck on the ends when you’re done to help secure them – it’s sort of rough, but if you’re covering the back, it shouldn’t matter.

  2. Kat says:

    FrayCheck is a good idea. The knilting project is really nifty.

  3. Mr Puffy says:

    I’m glad you are back and that is behind you! Roll on vacation time 🙂

    Three other Afghans on the needles…. hum. Someone has an addiction – LOL I too suffer from seriously sad sewing skills. Perhaps knilting is for me too!

  4. Jeanne says:

    So glad you are back home with the boys (and love the picture of Django!)

    The new project is really adorable, and you deserve some fun time!

  5. Sydney says:

    Congrats on being back home finally! I don’t blame Django for giving you a talking to. 🙂

    That afghan looks like it will cute.

  6. Robin says:

    So glad you’re finally home!!!! I’m sure all the critters missed you. Love the knilting! They really look cool. Can’t wait to see them together.

  7. janna says:

    I’ll second (third) the idea of Fraycheck – I used lots of it back when I cross-stitched.

    And I saw the afghan ad on the back of the KnitPicks catalog and almost succumbed….

  8. kathy says:

    Wow, that looks beautiful, but I think I’d go batty with that many color changes. Welcome back home!

  9. Sarah Katie says:

    I saw that kit, although I don’t think I would be able to hand all of the sewing in you would have to do with all of the color changes. I noticed that the fair isle vest kit went down in price yet again. What I really want is the new argyle vest kit. I think it is so cute. Then I could sew a cute little skirt to go with it.

  10. monica says:

    Those squares are so pretty! Can’t wait to see how the afghan turns out. Django is so cute in that picture. You can tell he was really yelling at you though. 🙂

  11. Li_B says:

    Gracee scolds us, too, when we’ve been gone. No mistaking that scolding bark.

Leave a Reply

