The Organization Begins

10 Drawers of Organizational HappinessI am starting the process of organizing my house and throwing out as much as is humanly possible.  But first and foremost was to move my stash from the upstairs spare bedroom closet to the basement on shelves.  And now amazingly so I can actually reach my stash easily and efficiently, I’m hopeful this will help dissaude in the purchasing of additional yarn and aid in the use of yarn I already have.  Which believe me, I have enough!  While we were running errands though this weekend I spotted what I had hoped would be the most perfect contraption to organize and store my knitting devices.  I have so many needles and accessories for knitting that they are in bags and baskets and bags and baskets, here, there and everywhere.  So I happened to have a long straight needle in my purse and was able to test out this device to see if it’d work, and low and behold it did!  So I’m thrilled, it was inexpensive $29.95, and my knitting devices are in the process of being as organized as my yarn.  Although I’m tempted to go buy a second one as I think I may actually have too much for one.  I bought it at a Sam’s Club, but I’m sure it exists other places in the world.

My vacation is approaching and as I always do, my plans for it have changed.  I’m going to spend a lot of time cleaning and organizing my house and throwing things out.  And instead of knitting on multiple projects I think I’m going to work solely on the Log Cabin AFghan so that I may actually be able to finish it up before summer. 

Napping is what I do best -- besides soccer.

I think the dogs will love me being home.  Tuesday I had a doctor’s appointment (which by the way I hate my doctor because I NEVER have to wait, and thus I never get to sit and knit) and went home early from work.  Abner was plastered to me the rest of the afternoon.  Apparently I’m nice to nap on.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Organization Begins

  1. Stephanie says:

    Organizing is always good! I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  2. Chris says:

    Wanna come over and organize my place when you’re done with yours? 😉

  3. janna says:

    I’ve been organizing, too, but haven’t got to the yarn yet. And I love that you just happened to have a long knitting needle with you! 😉

  4. Mr Puffy says:

    What an adorable picture of Abner! He looks all tuckered out from his day of play.

    Love your new storage containers ~ that will make it so much easier to find things! I have mine all stuffed into bags under my bed in a guest room. Terribly inconvenient.

    Good luck with getting the log cabin blanket finished up!

  5. Sydney says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing your organization strategy. Mine isn’t going so good. 🙂

    My doctor is just as bad. I never get enough time to knit.

  6. Jeanne says:

    Great storage container – what a good idea! I use my old Mother’s sewing organizer – its sort of falling apart but it has great sentimental value to me, and it does store all of my knitting things (except the stash of course).

    Glad you are organizing – can you come here and help me do my house? You can bring the dogs to play with Penny, Ruby and Duncan!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Nothing thrills me more than a good clearout. You have inspired me.

    And yes, I think the dogs will love seeing more of you.

  8. Brigitte says:

    I HAVE to pick up one of those containers! I just love organizing things…

    If your boys are anything like my guys, they will be plastered to you like velcro while you’re off. Enjoy it! I know I’d love to have 2 sweet puppies glued to me (although I’m pretty sure the cats would say otherwise).

  9. Sonya says:

    I think you have found the perfect organization thingy. I’m really behind with blog comments, but I love your bomber jacket. So cool! Nice blog redesign too.

  10. kathy says:

    Wahoo! Let the cleaning begin! My cleancation starts tomorrow and I’m super excited. I’ll check in with you later to see all your good progress.

  11. Angel says:

    Kudos to you! My apartment is so small and only has two closets, so I am desperately in need of organization myself- especially in the case of my clothes— hmmm… maybe a bit of inspired Spring cleaning?

  12. Kat says:

    That is a nifty organizer. It would work well for loose patterns also.

    Sometimes getting everything organized is the most freeing and refreshing occupation for a day or two off. Then you go back to work with a clear head and know that when you come home it will be to a clear house.

Leave a Reply

