A Very Talented Woman

My sister is extremely talented artistically.  I envy her for this as I have not one drop of artistic blood in my body. Oh I can knit and follow a pattern and make a beautiful item, but she can draw, write, design, create, photograph — this list could go on and on.  She writes a blog about Iowa, and right now she’s going to put up a sketch a day.  Its something worthwhile to check out.   Iowa Day by Day by Kathleen.

This particular post is one of my favorites, she has wrote this incredible poem about Penguins.  Apparently someone is sending her annoymous penguins through the mail, no doub t because her and my father believe penguins have hatched an evil plot to overthrow the world.  But here she shares her poem and some really cute sketches, so check it out.  Penguins, Penguins Everywhere…by Kathleen.

In other news the afghan is coming along, I’m down to five strips.  I can’t deny I’m really getting anxious to finish it up so that I can work on some lace. I always feel in the mood to knit lace when spring hits.  I’m going to work on the Forest Path Stole I’ve had in my queue for about 6 centuries.   I’m also working on a baby doll for my friend’s little girl.  Unfortunately they are coming to Illinois this weekend on a spur of the moment trip and I won’t have it finished.  But at least we still have postal service.

Brothers from Different Mothers

Django kept us up half the night last night.  It was the first spring storm, and it was loud and boomy and lots and lots of lightening.  You should see my back, its torn up from his claws, while he pawed at me to wake me up and comfort him.  Then of course Abner got upset because his brother was upset and started shaking and it was like our bed was attached to one of those old-60’s (?) vibrators you saw in hotels.    

One other thing, if you like period drama, I can’t recommend Lark Rise to Candleford enough.  Its a great little series we’ve been watching through Netflix.    

Next post I hope to show you some pictures from our hike last Friday at HIckory Canyons.  It was just as pretty as Pickle Springs which we like to frequent, but the hike was a bit more difficult in my opinion.  Plus you had to cross quite a few creek beds, and in high water, it’d be impossible I think.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Very Talented Woman

  1. Kat says:

    Don’t count on a sketch every day. I don’t have quite enough talent or ingenuity for that many.

  2. Chris says:

    Penguins are sneaky like that…

  3. Cat says:

    And the pictures of the afghan are where??????????????? Love the brothers from other mothers but I’m itching to get a glimpse of the log cabin progress too. Oh and yeah, I had that “mood” to knit lace again too – and then I knit it and got over it! LOL Threw that baby back in the bottom of the WIP basket. Although, I’ve always wanted to knit Forest Path, and just may give that one a go soon. Right now I’m knitting another pair of felted clogs, and I think I have a February Lady sweater to knit for a friend soon too.

  4. Mr Puffy says:

    Your sister sounds very talented indeed ~ as you are!

    Thanks for the period drama recommendation – I do enjoy them!

  5. Lifesastitch says:

    You haven’t found the right teacher. I take occasional day long watercolour classes for all levels of talent or not. This teacher has great success in getting the people who are convinced they have no artistic talent, to go home with a nice painting.

    I don’t believe you don’t have artistic talent 😉

  6. Sydney says:

    It looks to me like you’re both talented. A lot of being artistic is training and practice.

  7. Brigitte says:

    Oh, poor guys!

    My sister is the same – she’s the artistically talented one. Does it all – quilts, draws, paints, decorates, photographs…she has the eye!

  8. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I keep thinking of “Tux” the Linux penguin.

    Dogs are much nicer.

Leave a Reply

