When All Else Fails – Hide in the Closet

The other night we had a very long, very loud, and a very bright thunderstorm.  It must have produced 1,000 bolts of lightening in 2 hours.  Django was not happy.  He insisted on being held for 3 hours.  From 2:30 a.m. till 6:30 a.m. Oh wait, that’s 4 hours.  no wonder I was so tired.  At one point though, he get off the bed, and Nick said, where did he go.  I had heard a sound, and I said, I think he went in the closet (we have your normal 1950’s closet in our bedroom, small, narrow, and somewhat long.  sure enough, Nick opened the closet door and there was Django.  The poor guy really is quite afraid of thunderstorms.  So this morning as I got ready for work, it was thunderstorming again, Django was whining/crying and visibly upset at the thought of another storm.  So I quickly cleaned Nick’s side of the closet out (by dumping everything on my side) and put a blanket and a chew toy in the closet so he’d have a safe place to retreat to.  I hope Nick’s clothes are still on the hangers when I get home.

I can do nothing but think of knitting doilies.  For some odd reason I’m obsessed with the thought of doilies.  Now considering I have a ton of appropriate doily yarn, since I’m no longer making the queen sized bedspread on size 1 needles.  I may just indulge my current obsession once I’m done with the Forest Path Stole (which I’m on the final tier, then its border time).  Although if history has taught me nothing, it has taught me that once I get obsessed with something, the obsession quickly lapses when I actually begin knitting the obsessed item. 

Work has been horrific.  Well not really horrific, just annoying and stressful.  Why do some people have to treat all others like dirt? For 3 years I have loved coming to my job, loved my job, for the most part liked everything about it.  And while the majority of that is still true, this one piece of stress is adding my “I want to stay home and snuggle the dogs,” thought in the morning and I don’tl ike coming to the office any more.  I don’t like that.  Especially when simple communication has become like pulling teeth from a very mad rhinocerous, or wait a hippopotamous, I hear they are very mean animals. Which I guess is why its so stressful, I have a hard time accomplishing and fulfilling my job duties, when no one will communicate when I ask questions about when depositions are taking place, etc.  I guess if they don’t have a court reporter its their problem for not telling me! 

But alas, tis the weekend and tomorrow is date night.  We are going to sushi and to see a band called Midlake play.  And next weekend I’m off to Iowa for my niece’s graduation.  So breathe deep and remember to laugh is my current work motto.  And tonight when I get home, I may just get in the closet with Django.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When All Else Fails – Hide in the Closet

  1. Robin says:

    After today – if I was there – I’d join you in that closet! What a work day! We had a German Shepherd that jumped through a screened in porch to get inside. She was terrified of storms and could tell they were coming way before we could. I had a mixed breed that was also terrified — pulled on the wire of her cage so hard that it bent it and actually moved the whole pen a foot. I had Valium for her but sometimes wasn’t at home to give it to her in time.

  2. Chris says:

    Oh, poor Django. May’s safe spot for during thunderstorms is between the head of the bed and the wall. (It doesn’t take a lot of space for a kitty to feel safe.)

    Ugh – what changed in your work environment? New lawyer?

  3. Lifesastitch says:

    Gracee hates thunder and firecrackers. I swear she learned it from her cousin dog, because she didn’t have this fear until hanging out with him one 4th of July. Good thing thunderstorms are rare here.

  4. monica says:

    Ella hides in the closet during thunderstorms and firecrackers. Charlie just moves her bed to the closet and she goes in there the minute she gets scared.

  5. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Can I get in there too? How big is this closet?

    Poor fellow- I hope he doesn’t get too stressed out.

  6. Angel says:

    Oh poor Django!!!! Chloe is not afraid of thunder unless it is super close but Milo is. He hides under the coffee table…

    I love doilies. Although I never knit them, I do love to crochet them. Doilies are soooo fun.

  7. Mr Puffy says:

    Awww. You are a good Mommy! Thunderstorms can be scary – I’ve been in a few where I would have welcomed the closet myself – LOL

    Sorry to hear about the office being a pain. Best advise is to keep your thoughts and emotions to yourself. If this atty needs more hand holding and isn’t communicating as well as could be – maybe ask for a time to sit down and have an overview of cases and tasks so you both are on the same page. Keep in mind you are a team at all times and the goal is for everyone to look good.

    Lastly, remember nothing stays the same. I try and ride out the tough times and enjoy the good times and it sounds like you are going to have a wonderful and much needed break! enjoy 🙂

  8. Jeanne says:

    I don’t like thunderstorms either – maybe I’ll keep the closet idea in mind for the next one we have – and I think Penny would be very happy to join me there because she doesn’t like them either.

    I hope the work thing clears up – nothing worse than mean people!

Leave a Reply

