Border Stories

 
Anna Marie

Have you ever thought about life, how many borders we cross every day.  State borders, country borders, the borders on a picture we are coloring in kindergarten, the border to the West, the invisible border, borders every where we look.  Natural borders, Mississippi River, the Rockie’s, the alps, the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, Antartica, the Artic Circle.  Invisible borders, the ecuador, the atmosphere, all

 

sorts of borders.  Why didn’t they tell us that borders were everywhere, and they sometimes take forever to knit! 

So I’m working on the border of the forest Path Stole, can you tell?  Its soooooo slow.  The main knitting is done, this border may put me over the edge on boredom.

So to take the edge off the border, hee hee, I knit a doily.  I have to make one more matching one for my mother-in-law’s bedside tables. I noticed she had mass produced crocheted doilies under some tables the last time we were there, and well, we just can’t have that!  I’m recently addicted to knitting lace household goods.  I have several doilies, tableclothes, etc. that I want to knit. And I’m in love with Herbert Niebling.  I found this Spanish Tablecloth on Ravelry I really, really want to knit but I’m afraid it may be a little over the top for me,, right now.  But if I practice knitting doilies after doiles, maybe I will get there.  I still have two years before my mother’s 50th tablecloth has to be finished. I have to knit that from a child’s remorse of clipping the string with my newspaper punch to see if it would cut fabric. 

I have a ton of doily appropriate yarn, so if you see my house one day covered in a huge doily, you’ll know why.

Stretch before soccer.

Abner is more interested then soccer than anything else.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Border Stories

  1. Robin says:

    Pretty doily pattern. I need to knit one for the back of a chair in the guest bedroom.

  2. Chris says:

    You’d make the news if you knit a house doily.

  3. Jeanne says:

    That is a gorgeous doily!

  4. Sydney says:

    Beautiful doily! I’d like to see a house doily. 🙂

    I hope work is better for you this week.

  5. Brigitte says:

    Oh, what a beautiful doily! Waaay beyond my lace knitting skills.

    I’m thinking Abner is awfully excited about the World Cup coming up!

  6. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Go where the spirit moves you- the lace is beautiful.

  7. CatMyers says:

    Nice work, Rebekah! I really like Herbert Niebling too but figure those are a little beyond my skill level still.

  8. Lifesastitch says:

    Interesting thought. I have lots of US/Canadian border stories, considering how often we cross.

Leave a Reply

