Deep Thoughts — Okay Just Me Being Silly

So I sit in a lot of meetings at work, and many of these meetings have little do nothing to do with my actual work.  So I find my mind wandering and my hands doodling.  I’m a terrible doodler, I can barely draw a stick figure, so I often write words and then scribble over them.  Here are some of my latest deep thoughts from a meeting a week or so ago:

  1. Sometimes you just need to face the music and realize you’re in a horror movie.
  2. One way or the other will send you in opposite directions.
  3. Time will tell and you can’t tell it to shut up.
  4. Fools rush in and lose on appeal.  (occassionally a lawyererly one pops in my mind)
  5. Appeal is the surface of the fruit.
  6. The wheels on the bus on round and round, just like attorneys.

Today on my way to work I passed a semi for Groovy Yurts!  I loved it, I took a picture with my cell phone and sent it to my dad and husband.  I don’t know why it made me so happy, it just did. 

Tomorrow I head to Iowa, first to see my sister in Marengo then up to my parents in Independence to visit them and my grandmother who has recently moved there temporarily (or not so temporarily if she likes it) in an assisted living facility.  She’s my last surviving grandparent and she’s 94.  I have to pack tonight as I’m working a half day and then driving up.  I hate packing, I never know what to take and always take the wrong thing and never the right things.  Worse yet, I have no clue what knitting to take!  Doily patterns and yarn for doilies or should I take Elizabeth.  I started her sleeve the other day when I was in the Arch Museum waiting on friends from Iowa to come down from the top of the Arch.   And then of course I could take the Forest Path Stole and work on the dreaded border. I really need to focus some attention on it, but I don’t wanna!

I’m going all by myself, maybe I’ll just take all my stash with me, there should be almost enough room in the van.  Wait, who am I kidding I couldn’t fit half my stash in the van.  But I do have plenty of room, I guess it just is more of a question how much to I want to pack?  Maybe I should have bought a yurt. 

The worst part about going away for 5 nights and 6 days is the fact that I’m leaving my parrot, my pups, and my husband.  How will I sleep without all of them or wake up considering Basil is the best alarm clock ever?  My sister and mother both have cats, but they just don’t take up the same amount of room and since I’m a stranger to them, I doubt they’ll sleep with me anyway.  I’d better take lots of Tylenol PM so I can knock myself out and not be so lonely.

Sonya the other day asked if Django was always in motion, here’s the one picture I have of him when he’s not.  He’s pretending he’s a cat I think.

So off I go into the great North….I just wish it was cold up there.  Gotta love the midwest in Summer, hot and muggy.  I stepped outside this morning and probably wouldn’t have had to take a shower the air was so damp and humid.  So until another day….Toodle Pip.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Deep Thoughts — Okay Just Me Being Silly

  1. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Have a nice time visiting. I listen to all my corny cd’s when I’m in the car by myself.

    Now, about that yurt……

  2. fleegle says:

    Have a wonderful time! I would have taken all my WIPs, just in case.

  3. Kat says:

    Ok, you get to sleep with Sarah and Moochie or Schatzi will probably sleep with you.

    Schatzi tends to sleep with overnight guests and she sleeps on their head. I don’t know why she will only sleep on my feet.

  4. Sarah Katie says:

    You get to sleep with me. However I doubt there will be any cats sleeping with us. Moochie does seem to have an obsession with me at the moment, but he doesn’t usually like to spend time with strangers.

  5. Jeanne says:

    Have a great time with your family – and I hope you found a great project to bring!

  6. Sonya says:

    Django does stay still sometimes! I love it when they tuck their nose under their tails like that. Have a great trip!

  7. Brigitte says:

    Yeah, I probably couldn’t fit half of my stash in a semi. I’m the same way – never know what to pack, and worse of all, never know what knitting to bring! What if I run out of yarn? Get bored? Watch TV? Charted knitting? And on and on…

    Hope you’re having a great time!

  8. Kathy says:

    I’m thinking that taking Forest Path would be the best approach (not that what I think makes a lick of difference, now that you’e already gone). It will force you to work on it, but you’ll be with company to keep you entertained and distracted from the tedium. You’re not encouraging me to start mine, you know!

  9. Mr Puffy says:

    Oh, let’s see this stash of yours – LOL Have a wonderful time away and how fortunate you are to have such great genes (94 – that’s impressive!).

    Love your meeting meanderings.

  10. Sydney says:

    Have a nice trip! I think that’s why I wait until the last minute to pack. I end up just throwing stuff together without thinking about it too much. Otherwise I obsess about it.

    It’s been downright tropical here – very hot, humid and rainy.

  11. Lifesastitch says:

    I know I’ve been to Marengo, but can’t remember when. Probably when my first daughter was born in Omaha and baptized at a camp in the Cedar Rapids area. I temember my niece thinking it was called “See the Rabbits, Iowa”

    Have fun.

  12. Robin says:

    There’s BASIL!!!!!!!! Good to see him! the Groovy Yurt sign would make me happy, too!

  13. Carrie K says:

    Did you survive? Sleep? Sleep w/any cats? Finish the sleeve on E?

    94! Awesome.

  14. Samantha says:

    Rebekah, have a great time in Canada! Too bad you aren’t going to be closer to me or I’d schedule a visit.

  15. Chris says:

    I hope you’re having a good visit to Iowa!

Leave a Reply

