Summer Block Party

Spanish Tabecloth (single mat)

Doretta (name of pattern)

Did your neighborhood have block parties when you were little?  Ours didn’t, but we would have block hide and seek parties in my little neighborhood in Oelwein, Iowa.  All the kids and some of the adults would play hide and seek, the block was the boundry and  you could hide anywhere but inside buildings/houses.  It was always very easy to find my sister as our black cocker spaniel would play with us, and we’d

put a white t-shirt on her so we could find her.  Jet wouldn’t leave Kathy’s side so she was always found first. 

Today I had a summer block party at my house, but it didn’t involve cooking out or playing hide and seek, it involved blocking some items.  Two doilies and my shawlette.  I had enough yarn! Yay! In fact I probably could have done another lace section, but then I probably would have run out, so instead I have a lovely little shawlette that matches an outfit I bought in Iowa eerily well.  Although I’m not sure the practicality of a shawlette as there is no way it would keep me warm.  I guess if you had a sleeveless dress or shirt, but then I don’t do sleeveless.  My arms are too fat.

T

oday is Nick’s parents’ 40th wedding anniversary, unfortunately due to the illness of their dog they couldn’t meet us for lunch as we had planned in Springfield and give them

 their gifts, so instead we emailed them pictures.  I’ll mail up the matching doilies this next week, we bought them a piece of art glass for their wall at the Third Degree Art Studio in St. Louis, that will have to be delivered in person which is why we were supposed to meet us in Springfield.  But alas, we’ll meet them in a few weeks.

Now as promised, I’m making myself finish the Forest Path Stole.  Before I do anything else in knitting.  At least that is my current promise, I’m sure I’ll change my mind as the week is out.  But then I like Wendy’s and many other’s rules on this, its a hobby, its supposed to be enjoyable, why should I apologize for doing something I want to do instead of forcing myself to knit something I’m bored with.  But currently I’m plugging away, as I really dooooo want a new shawl and I’m so close to being finished.

Travelling Woman Shawlette

 

Plus its just a gorgeous pattern and deserves to be shown off!

The dogs have had a good weekend too.  Friday night was extraordinarily beautiful, so as soon as I got home I immediately walked outside and took the dogs for a play session.  The corn behind our house is about 7 feet tall, seriously 7 feet i fnot taller, and Django thought it was great fun to go into the cornfield.  And watch me figure out how to get him back in the yard with his leash wrapped around 3 rows of corn.  Abner played frisbee. 

It is a lazy summer day, mommy

I hope you are having a lovely weekend!  I sure am.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Summer Block Party

  1. Chris says:

    They are lovely!!

  2. Sydney says:

    Oh pretty doilies!

    I can just picture you and Django in the cornfield. LOL! I’m sure Django thought it was fun.

  3. Mr Puffy says:

    We had block hide and seek games at the end of our street during the Summers when I was a kid! I LOVED that. Now when we go down to San Clemente it is very similar and I love to hang out.

    My advice with the Forrest Path Stole is just plug away a little bit each day so that you consistently are moving forward.

  4. Robin says:

    Travelling Woman — very pretty! I love lace! No block parties in my old neighborhood but the kids would stay out late playing and catching lightening bugs.

  5. Carrie K says:

    We used to have tons of block parties in the summertime – probably because no one had air conditioning back then and we were all driven outside.

    Very nice doilies! That’s my idea of a blocking party.

  6. Jeanne says:

    The doilies are beautiful – you do an amazing job on them!

    Yay on finishing the shawlette – but maybe you should work on something you enjoy instead? Or maybe send the Forest Path to someone else to finish!

  7. CatMyers says:

    I grew up in the country – and there were no “blocks” – or block parties. 🙂 My cousins down in SoCal had them though. Pretty doilies! Your shawlette will work great this winter underneath a coat – posing as an “ample” scarf. They’re also nice in an air conditioned office where the top you thought would work just fine doesn’t quite cut it.

  8. Kathy says:

    Beautiful, beautiful. Don’t worry about practical, just wear the shawlette when the mood strikes you! Can’t wait to see the forest path stole!!!

Leave a Reply

