I Need Your Input – Please Vote

I completely forgot that one of my attorneys is expecting his first child in a few weeks.  Well I didn’t forget, so much as I forgot when.  When you work with the male of the couple you don’t have that constant reminder as with a female.  I was going to do the name blocks, but they refuse to tell anyone what the name of the child is.  We do know that the infant will be born a female.  And through another blunt attorney who’s working in my court found out the color this infant’s room has been decorated in. 

So I determined that a blanket would be an adequate present and well I really liked the Tamarix Quilt in the Fall 2010 Interweave.  Plus the parents of this infance are both attorneys, drink expensive wine, and are more “modern” individuals.  I wanted a pattern that didn’t look like their grandmother knit it in 1960 or 1970.  I like knitting mitered squares, and the design is very modern I think, and it looked like an easily portable project.  But when I checked out the pattern on Ravelry, I really didn’t like aspects of the design.  Mostly the sides.  So I decided I’d edit the design, the sides and top added a somewhat southwest flair to the blanket I’m just not in love with, of course maybe its the colors the blanket was knit in as well.  But the basic center and corner design I love, so I decided to modify.  This is where I need your help.

I charted out several new possible designs.  I’ve narrowed it from 14 possible choices to 4.  So please vote, by leaving me a comment and let you know which one you prefer.  The yarn has been ordered and as soon as I finish the Shetland Faroese Shawl I’ll be starting this.  The infant is due to become an oxygen breather around  middle september, and I’d like to have the blanket done somewhere around then if at all knitterly possible.

In other news, well there really isn’t much.  I’m feeling much better from last week’s illness.  I’ve had to work late several evenings this week, so I have not knit as much on the shawl as I’d like, but I’m making fair progress and should hopefully be finished with it, about the time my yarn for the above blanket arrives, or at least relatively close to that, and I’ll have plenty of yarn so I won’t have to scavange the yarn around the swift.

As long as there is snuggling, I'm good.

This weekend will be cleaning the house and going grocery shopping.  My life is just sooooooo exciting!

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I Need Your Input – Please Vote

  1. Chris says:

    Glad you’re feeling better!! I like Option 4 – it seems less busy.

  2. monica says:

    That sounds like my kind of weekend. 🙂 I like Option 4 also.

  3. Robin says:

    I like either Option 2 or 4. Can hardly wait to see this underway!

  4. Carrie K says:

    I like #1. It reminds me of open windows on a computer so it strikes me as more modern. OTOH, I’m probably old and out of touch. 🙂

    Late nights are bah. I’ve had a few of those this week.

  5. Lifesastitch says:

    #1 looks most contemporary to me. Others look more traditional.

  6. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Okay, I’ll play- option 2.

    You’re cleaning AND grocery shopping-?

  7. Jeanne says:

    I like #2 – I don’t know why but it was the one that immediately drew me in.

    Your weekend sounds like mine – well, except the cleaning! 🙂 Hope you had a bit of fun too…

  8. janna says:

    Option 2, I think. It looks the most southwester to me.

  9. Kristi says:

    I like option 1 the best. It is still mod and geometric, but it a more subtle and organic way, if that makes sense. It makes me think of some art deco designs.

  10. Sonya says:

    I like them all, but I agree that Option 1 seems more modern. Oxygen breather! LOL

  11. Angel says:

    I like Option 4- it is modern and classic and kinda geometric.

  12. CatMyers says:

    I cant decide, Rebekah! Sorry. I’m sure any that you decide on will be beautiful. You know, I thought I’d leafed thru the Fall IK from cover to cover and a simply do NOT remember seeing that blanket. How strange. I haven’t been feeling well either, and have been sleep-deprived as well as out of town recently, so could be my powers of observation are currently out of order. Love the FO Forest Path Shawl, and the Shetland Faroese shawl is one of my favorites by Syvia Harding. I cant wait to see your final result. You’re becoming rather addicted to lace knitting, I notice!! It has that power.

  13. Kathy says:

    Is it too late? I saw option 1. It seems the most modern. The other three look more like flowers, at least in the display you’ve shown.

Leave a Reply

