Feeling Lost

Do you ever just feel lost?  Like you can’t find your way, mainly because you don’t even know where your way is.  That’s how I have felt for the past 6 or so weeks.  Just completely rejected and dejected, like down is up and up is down.  Maybe its the summer heat, I hate hot summers and this summer has been both hot and humid and oppresive, we can’t even bike ride, we’d drown in the humidity.  This weekend may be a little better, so maybe we’ll get out on our bikes and stop wallowing in the oppresiveness of this summer. 

I don’t know why I feel this way, it’ll go away eventually, I will once agin become focused and figure out how to save the day, I always do.  I don’t mean to be melodramatic, but then melodramaticism tends to run in my family.  Its gotta be the summer heat, half my family was built for summer (my sister and her family – must be from my Floridian mother) and the other half, me and my brother and even my parents I think were built for the cold (must be from my Michiganian father – and why my brother lives in Alaska).  My brain just doesn’t work when its blistering hot, and I can’t stop thinking about how much energy our air conditioner is using just to make it comfortable for my husband.

In the meantime, I finally took pictures of the shawl off the blocking board. 

I’m also nearing the end of the Shetland Faroese Shawl, only about 12 more rows and it’ll be done.

And I started Tamarix.  But after all that voting, this is what happened.  So Monday  my yarn arrived, I had decided to knit Option 2, because while my personal favorite was option 4, i didn’t think I had enough of the tan yarn for Option 4.  So Monday I knit two squares.  Tuesday 2 squares.  Wednesday a square.  So I had one-half of one row of blocks done and put together.  And I realized that this baby blanket, was rather large and going to take me a long time to knit because of its largeness and 100 squares.  So I modified the pattern again.  I took one row of squares off of each side going from 100 squares to knit to 64, and what I think will be a much more appropriate baby blanket size. 

What I'd like to be Doing

So Option 2 and 4 with one row on each side gone, are exactly the same so in essence I’m knitting both.

Pictures next week hopefully.

In other news, I found my husband what I think is a perfect anniversary present.  A Concerntina.  Its basically a small accordian that is operated by buttons not your normal keys like on a piano.  Its an old instrument that has a moden appeal to me.  He’s a musician at heart and its the thing that makes him tick, he comes from a very long line of muscians.  Now we’ll see if he keeps it, we had agreed on no presents this year, but I couldn’t help myself, and I think he’ll be upset at the cost.   But I can just see him taking it along to work and playing it at lunch learning the ins and outs.  Maybe I can convince him to keep it as his 14th and 15th annivesary present.  It comes Monday, we’ll see what happens.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Feeling Lost

  1. Mr Puffy says:

    It’s fantastic!!!! Love the pictures (all of them – but particularly the last one – LOL).

    I’m sorry you feel in a funk. Not to alarm you but I’ve not felt like I had any direction in my life for at least 4 years now.

    What a great compromise to knit both Option 2 and 4! It all worked out for the best 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    That shawl is breath taking!! 🙂

    Oh, I get into funks like that, although I’m not so good at shaking ’em off as you are!

  3. Kathy says:

    Wow! It’s beautiful! Despite your warnings, I think I’m going to have to knit this…

  4. Jeanne says:

    Sorry that you’ve been in a funk and down – I hope that the weather breaks this weekend and you get out for a bit and get some happy back! Summer is tough – its so hot that we have the AC going all the time and stay inside – so its a lot like winter, isn’t it?

    The shawl is gorgeous! Wow – just beautiful – and I can’t believe how big it is!

    The gift sounds fun – I’m sure your DH will love it! Have a great weekend…

  5. Carrie K says:

    The shawl is gorgeous!

    I get into those moods. Life. It never goes as planned.

    But that could be a good thing in your husband’s case! The present sounds perfect.

  6. Lorette says:

    That is one gorgeous stole. Nice work!

    I’m betting your guy will love the concertina. That’s a very creative gift. I hope you’re out of the funk soon, I have no advice for that, since I never seem to recognize them until I’m well sucked under by them.

  7. Lifesastitch says:

    I bought my husband an autoharp as a gift. It’s gotten some good use over the years.

Leave a Reply

