Someone Stole My Donkey

Django sleeps in the funniest positions.

Near my house are two lovely little pastures, each of which are occuppied by a two lovely herds of cows.  I enjoy watching these pastures, and seeing the goings on of the cows, watching their little ones play and frolic, watching calfs that are way to old to still be nursing trying to get to their mother’s udders.  Its a little piece of happiness in a very hectic world.  Recently in one herd a lovely gray donkey showed up.  He was very sweet.  He’d hang out with the cows, eat the grass, and was a very lovely addition to my little patch of happiness.  But as soon as he appeared, he’s disappeared, and I’d like to know who took my donkey away!  Its been upsetting me the past week, I keep craning my neck and nearly causing many accidents by swerving all over the road looking for my donkey.

I finished my Shetland Faroese Garden shawl on Tuesday, no pictures yet, will hopefully block it this weekend ifI’m not stuck at my office preparing the attorneys for depositions all weekend.  I started the Tamarix blanket, but have not gotten very far.  The hopes of getting this done before the baby is born are completely thwarted, not only has my knitting time been diminished substantially by the fact my in-laws bought Nick and I a Wii system for our upcoming 14th wedding anniversary, and I’m completely obsessed with the balance board and playing the obstacle course on Wii Fit Plus, but the baby decided that it didn’t want to wait another 5 weeks to be born.  She hasn’t made her grand arrival yet, but it is iminent, and the doctors have decided to not stop the labor since it has progressed too far.  The poor woman has been in labor since Monday night.   She’s stalled out right now, but they expect the baby will still be born sooner rather than later. 

Its unearthly hot here, as it is in much of the country, so I’m glad I work in a frigid office building.  But boy do I feel bad for all those who don’t, including my husband.  I hope you all stay cool and drink lots of water, and if you see my donkey around, could you please send him back to his lovely little pasture.  I certainly miss him.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Someone Stole My Donkey

  1. Kathy says:

    I hope you find your donkey! I would love to see him if he comes back.

  2. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Donkeys are so cute- I hope he returns.

    (Fall is getting nearer….)

  3. Angel says:

    Donkeys are awesome- in the Southwest we call the shorter, fuzzier ones “burros” and there are a few herds of wild ones left… a friend of mine who lived outside of San Francisco lived down the hill from a burro rescue- she loved it in the spring when all the babies were new-born and out frolicking in the fields- so fuzzy!!!

  4. Chris says:

    I hope you figure out where the donkey went!!

    The heat finally broke here. Ahhh…

  5. Jeanne says:

    Maybe the donkey was just on vacation and went back home? I hope it’s cooler there – and I hope that your friend had her baby!

  6. Mr. Puffy says:

    Awww I hope your donkey comes back :))))

    We’ve had an unusually cool Summer for SoCal this year – until last week. It is now brutally hot. Roll on Fall!!!!

  7. Carrie K says:

    I hope the donkey comes back just so you can admire him!

    Your work schedule sounds like mine. Poor us.

  8. The arrival of our Wii made serious dents in my knitting too. It wanned eventually. Though we did just play wakeboarding, frisbee, speed slice and bowling on Sports Resort tonight. That was the first in a long while. I think my fav WiiFit game is the Kung Fu.

  9. Brigitte says:

    Come back, little donkey! They really are so cute and sweet.

    Django reminds me of the way Malcolm sleeps. You think there is no way he could be comfortable, but…

Leave a Reply

