The $400 Doily

Do you remember those twin doilies I made for my Mother-In-Law for her bedside tables.  Well they are no longer twins as my mother-in-law decided to have one framed.  She’s taken it to this specialty place that deals with heirlooms and original artwork, has had museum quality glass put over it, and according to my father-in-law has cost him $400.  I guess I shouldn’t knit her new doilies every year, I may cause them to go bankrupt.  Nick is tasked with getting a picture of this framed doily when he goes to visit his parents in a couple of weeks.  We both can’t go because I have to stay home with the dogs, because until their dog of 13 year dies, our dogs aren’t welcome because they overpower their dog and wear her out.  I’m not upset by this, as it means a couple of quiet days at home knitting and watching chick flicks. 

I’m working as hard as I can between playing Wii and working way to many hours on the Tamarix Blanket.  Its coming along, although not as quickly as I’d like.  I’m debating about my next project already, I have it narrowed down to three possible projects 1) finish Elizabeth so I’ll have it for this fall, 2) Midnight Sun Tam I have a kit for, or 3) pick out another fair isle vest to knit.  I absolutely love and wear to death (in winter) my vest I knit last year from Knit Picks and so I’m kinda leaning toward that because I could probably get it finished by the time vest weather arrived.  But I’m also leaning towards finishing Elizabeth.  Oh decisions, decisions.  I probably won’t actually decide until its time to start knitting and then it’ll probably be the mood of the moment.  I really want to only have one main project on the needles, and then have my blankets I knit on for the house as extras.  Really who would have thought planning knitting could be so time consuming and mind encompassing.

The Weather Broke??? Can we play soccer now?

Our weather finally sorta broke.  Its still warmer then I’d like, upper 80’s low 90’s, but the humidity has dropped off a tad.  I can’t wait for fall/winter.  Hopefully we’ll now be able to get in some nice bike rides on the weekend.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The $400 Doily

  1. Chris says:

    Wow, talk about an honor – your doily has been well-valued, hasn’t it?! 😀

  2. Mr. Puffy says:

    What a compliment!!! Looking forward to seeing this piece of art suitably framed 🙂

    After a cooler than usual Summer we have now entered the heat zone and it’s way hotter than usual. Hope you have a fun weekend with bike rides and other fun stuff!

  3. sarah katie says:

    it’s supposed to be in the 70’s all week here, i think the highest it may get is 82. it is a bit refreshing, but i would never want it to get cooler than this if i could control the weather. i guess i belong in southern california, where it is 70 and sunny all the time.

  4. Wow, how cool to have your work archivally framed! What an honor!

  5. Kathy says:

    That is really nifty. I think that is a good indication that she likes it, huh? I knit a swallowtail for a friend’s 40th and in three years, I’ve never seen her wear it. Our heat wave has broken too and I’m thankful. I remember crocheting afghans in the summer and it isn’t much fun.

  6. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Um, I wouldn’t knit her any more doilies- it could prove costly!

  7. Lifesastitch says:

    She could probably pay for airfare to Vancouver and go to my very reasonable picture framer, complete with the special glass and still come within “budget.” On second thought, maybe you could bring it up here. Oh what fun that would be.

  8. Jeanne says:

    I think the doily would be beautiful framed – I’d love something like this for my room, but need to get around to actually knitting something like that!

Leave a Reply

