140 Pound Houseguest

Well not quite yet, but soon.  My brother is moving from Alaska to Virginia.  He’s sold his house in Alaska and will be leaving there at the end of this month, but he doesn’t have a job or a place to live in Virginia yet.  While he and his wife are settling in, they’ll be staying with her father.  While her dad is happy to welcome Luke, the kitty, into the house they cannot house Norman.  Norman is a 140 pound Rotweiller-St. Bernard mix.  Guess who’s coming to visit!  Norman!  I can’t deny, I’m quite excited to have Norman come to my home.  I love Norman.  He is the kindest, gentlest giant there ever was. He may be staying a few weeks or a few months.  I hope Abner and Django tolerate his existence.  My brother’s only other option would be to leave him in Alaska with his old boss, but if he leaves Norman in Alaska he’ll never get Norman back and Andrew (my brother) just isn’t ready to part with Norman.  He recently had to put his 15 year-old Greyhound, Kitty down.  I don’t think he can stand to part with another pet.  Norman’s nearly 11 already and there probably aren’t many years left for this giant of a dog.  My brother and I have the same overwhelming committment to our dogs and I know his heart would break if we didn’t let Norman come live with us and he had to leave him in Alaska.  So our very small house will just be a little extra cramped for a few months.  I wish I could find a picture of Norman to post.  I have one at work I think, so when I get back to the office next week I’ll post it.  For some reason my Alaska trip pictures aren’t on the hard drive I thought they were.

Norman had better not take my spot on the couch!

In other news, I’ve been having a very boring vacation.  Boring is good though.  Its been very relaxing.  We haven’t done much but eat so far, my husband’s favorite activity is cooking so he’s been doing some cooking projects he hasn’t been able to do, like make homemade tamales.  We did drive over to columbia MO to visit with my grandmother and my dad who was down from Iowa to take her to a doctor’s appointment.  She’s going to be moving to Iowa soon.  I also met my cousin’s fiance.  Strange that she’s getting married she was about 7 at my wedding.  Doesn’t seem possible she’s old enough to get married herself.

Today we are going on a bike ride and hopefully the rest of the days of the week as well.  the dogs have enjoyed the extra time with us, we’ve gone outside and played many days.  Although then Abner hurt his leg.  Its fine, but he limped around one night, I think he maybe pulled a muscle.  But it was better by morning so we didn’t need to take him to the vet.

I had started a quick new project on Saturday a pair of gloves.  They were intended for my co-worker who told me last Friday that she had accepted a permanent position at another firm.  She was a contract attorney at our office.  She’s been so great to work with I wanted to make her something to say good-bye.  So I started a pair of gloves I knew she’d like.  Then on Monday I got an e-mail from another contract attorney co-worker at our office who I’m also very close with and she’s leaving too!  Since I didn’t feel right about making a gift for one and not the other I decided the gloves I’m making will go to someone else, maybe my mother-in-law, but then that ended the urgency to finish them so I started back working on my St. Brigid.  I really want to spin some too, but I find myself moody this week and just unsure of anything I do, so I haven’t bothered to get out the wheel.

Oh and my dad gave me a guilt trip about not making him a sweater. So I guess I need to knit my dad a sweater here at some point.  Maybe a vest.  Ages ago i purchased yarn to make him a vest, maybe I should just actually do that.  The yarn is somewhere in the great stash.  I don’t begrudge my dad a guilt trip though, after all he’s my dad.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 140 Pound Houseguest

  1. Carrie K says:

    Make the vest/sweater soonest. (That advice just because I was so close to finishing my Dad’s cardigan before he died that I could just kick myself for knitting anything else. I thought I had decades.)

    Norman visiting! How cool!! I’m with you on pets as family.

  2. Chris says:

    Boring and relaxing are good vacation qualities! 🙂

    I hope your guys like Norman!

  3. Lesley says:

    Can’t wait to see pics of Norman. We’re the same way with our dogs — they are adopted for life.

  4. Robin says:

    You’ll have to let me know where he settles in VA.

  5. Kristi says:

    Wow, what a house guest! I hope it is going well.

    Sorry to hear about your contract co-workers. I don’t know about you, but if my dad starts guilt tripping, it is a BIG deal. He commented on my lack of coming home recently which has made my own desire to visit stronger than it had been…

Leave a Reply

