I Gotta Tell You – About Soap!

It still lathers!

I don’t normally do this, but when something is exceptional you just have to shout it from the rooftop.  And so, if I climbed on the roof of my house, well it wouldn’t really reach that many people, because there is a field behind my house.  So the next best thing is tell the people who read my blog, which granted isn’t a huge number, but regardless I have to tell you.

So a couple of years ago I bought some soap from Robin.  I read her knitting blog and love watching her adventures in her new state of Ohio.  I bought the soap as gifts for some of the girls at work who had gone above and beyond the call of duty, and I kept a couple of bars for myself.  But to be honest, I’m just not into personal beauty products.  I’m fine with Zest or Irish Spring.  But it smelled so good I had to keep a couple of bars to wash my face with.  Once I started using her soap though, oh my was I hooked.  It lathered wonderfully, smelled divinely, and I don’t know if its because of the soap but I swear I’ve had less blemishes.  Although I’ve never been one to have a lot of blemishes.  Probably why I’m not that concerned about what kind of soap I use.

Well recently I was running out. And was at our natural dog food store, where we buy the boys food and he had some locally made soap for sale on his counter. I needed a bar, and it wasn’t expensive, $6 (I think), so I gave it a try. It didn’t smell as good, but oh well I thought.  So I used it, the first day it was fine.  But on the second day, it burned my eyes soooo bad.  I thought i had just got some in my eyes on accident.  So the next day I was very careful to not go anywhere near my eyes.  And it burned even worse! So I wrote Robin to see what she had in stock. 

Heaven in little boxes

My package came today.  Nick got it out of the mailbox and he said, boy you might have to fight me for this soap because it smells so good and I haven’t even opened the box.  I told him he could have a bar, i did order 6 which is probably a 5-year supply as long as this stuff lasts!  Seriously I’ve used one of her half bars since February.  Every day washing my face.  See the picture above, that’s what is left, and I still get a great lather out of it!

So I ordered the following:  Pineapple Cilantro – I was a little nervous, but since I’m a cilantro addict I had to have it.  My goodness this stuff smells awesome. I wish there was smell-a-blog!  Rise & Shine – my 2nd favorite, its so invigorating smelling, Almond Biscotti – Nick might try to eat the bar, and Lemon Drop – very lemony and fresh smelling.

So if you want some awesome soap, she sells them for $5 a large bar, and I’m not sure of her half bar price.  Visit her blog, or here’s her other web address:  www.kerrlake.com/robinest.

sorry for the shop-a-blog, but I had to share. You don’t know how happy that soap made me today.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Gotta Tell You – About Soap!

  1. Hmmm, I’ve not gotten into making soap with lye at this point. But my friend is having a heck of time finding natural beauty products that are nut-free – no almond oil or shea butter. We may have to ping Robin and see if she has anything to meed those needs!

    • Robin says:

      Rebekah, that is one pitiful little specimen that you have left! Looks like you received your soap order just in the nick of time! I’m so happy you like the soaps. My face LOVES it, too! Thanks for the glowing comments!

      Kristi, the oils in my basic soap recipe includes olive, coconut, palm, palm kernel, avocado, sunflower / safflower, and castor. I don’t put shea butter in my soaps because it creates a drag feeling and I think it cuts the lather. I save the shea for my lotion.

  2. Alison says:

    I discovered a few years ago that natural soaps didn’t dry my hands out like storebought. (I’d had severe problems with cracked, bleeding skin for years, especially in winter and nothing, even dermatologist stuff, didn’t work.) There was just something in the storebought soaps that I was sensitive to (didn’t matter what brand.) Anyway, I haven’t had any problems since switching to natural; it’s all I use now.

  3. fleegle says:

    Sounds lovely! And you should really knit the Echo Flower. It’s so pretty no matter what.

  4. Mr. Puffy says:

    Love hearing about products that are “finds”! You are like Steve’s mom – blessed with naturally great skin – and she was a dial soap lady 🙂

  5. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I really appreciate a fine bar of soap- I don’t use face cream, so I will spend a bit more to get something nice.

  6. Chris says:

    *sigh* I have rosacea, so my skin is sooooo sooooo picky – can’t have a lot of oils, can’t be scented, etc…

Leave a Reply

