Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

I was in the car and this song cam on, and its funny how a song can bring back such vivid memories.  I remembered in junior high being the auditorium with Stacey and Camille and we were dancing and singing this song loudly.  I’m not sure why we were in the auditorium, if it was speech class, or for some reason our study hall was in there, but I remember dancing around the aisles of chairs singing Girls Just Wanna Have Fun.  And then that made me think about the auditorium there in the Oelwein Junior High School and how cool I thought it was.  It had sloped seating and doors on either side of the stage area that had stairs up into the cafeteria.  And how cool it was to be in Junior High and then how annoyed I was when we moved to Independence and the school was called Middle school, and I just thought that Junior High School was far superior to a Middle School, mainly because we had an indoor swimming pool and a cool auditorium, unlike the Middle School which had only two interesting features, it was round and there was a little nature trail that we got to go cross-country skiing on in winter.  Then I began thinking about the cafeteria at that Junior High School, and how from the cafeteria you went down a hall to the band and chorus room, and from the chorus room it was a ramp down to the band room and there was this mural on the wall that I was exceptionally proud of because my sister had painted it.  And since she was 9 years my elder, I was so proud that it was still there, and years later it was too when I went back to Oelwein’s Junior High School, with a bunch of kids from my new school in Independence, to take a moped course in that cool auditorium.  Its funny how one little song can bring back so many memories.

Cousin Norman had better not steal my soccer ball.

What song brings back a flood of memories for you.  Oh the words flood of memories just brought back another memory, my senior year (I think) i was on the yearbook staff and that was our yearbook theme.  We had a really huge flood in our town that year which cut the town in two for a couple of days when all the bridges closed.  And I came up with the theme a Flood of Memories.  hee hee.  I guess i’m having a remember when day.  Which is good because I’m really grumpy today.

Work is slow on St. brigid.  I only am able to knit about a row a day right now because of all the extra work work I’m doing.  My dad’s sweater, may have to wait to next year.  It’ll be the next thing I knit, but it probably won’t get finished until the summer.  Of course this weekend I have to work on work stuff, and get my house cleaned for my brother to come next weekend.  Maybe that’s why I’m grumpy I know I have a whole lot to do this weekend, when I’d rather just knit.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

  1. Music, like scents can be so wonderful for evoking memories! I have a few around that song too 🙂

  2. Lifesastitch says:

    Just like smells. I bought some Palmer’s cocoa butter lotion and it brought back childhood memories.

  3. Carrie K says:

    Aw. Pups just want their own soccer ball.

    Thanks for sharing your song memories! That’s pretty cool – your sister painted the mural and it was still there? It probably still is!

    I was massively grumpy a couple of weeks ago but I seem to have (thankfully) snapped out of it. I hope it lasts.

  4. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I remember that song- but I was out of high school by then.

  5. Sydney says:

    It’s interesting how a song can bring back so many memories.

    Uh oh, you might need soccer balls all around. 🙂

  6. Kat says:

    That was a wonderful Junior High. It had a great art room, and two Home-Ec rooms, one for sewing one with really neat kitchens. I’ve never seen any like it since. The auditorium was fabulous and the pool was great, plus the locker room had individual showers with shower curtains – Yeah, privacy. It was a very well designed school.

Leave a Reply

