A Very Sad Cousin Norman

Norman - double the Django

Well Norman has arrived.  Him and his dad (my brother) arrived on Friday.  It was nice to see my brother, and Norman and the dogs didn’t kill each other.  Luke the cat even came in for the night (although he was closed into Basil’s room and surprisingly Basil likes cats) and the dogs didn’t go insane.  Then Andrew left on Saturday around 11.  And Norman pined.  And he pined.  And in the middle of the night he started this mournful howling/crying for his daddy.  It is horrible.  Hopefully in a few days he’ll settle in and he’ll become happier.  The moaning/howling is terrible.  Not because its keeping us awake but because he’s so sad.  He’s taken over Basil’s room as his comfort place.  He lays on the bed and looks out the window.  This morning we brought his food into that room and he ate two bowls.  He obviously was very hungry.  Right now he’s laying on the litte wood floor by our front door.  So at least he’s come out of his room.  Abner and him I think will become buddies.  Django and him, I’m not so sure.  Django is still bullying him.  But at least they aren’t tearing each other’s throats out.  He also hasn’t been able to figure out the doggy door.  But he’s sooooo much bigger than the boys, he fits through but the step up and down I don’t think is comfortable.  I’m off work tomorrow to hope give him another day of settling in.

In knitting news, I started knitting an elephant.  Oh and I knit a couple of dishcloths, my aunt loves them so I figured I’d whip some up for her.  I’m putting St. Brigid in time-out until the yarn arrives.  I’m ready to start a new skein and figure that if I alternate balls (hopefully the dyelots will be close) you won’t notice the difference so much.  So I’m meeting my new little first cousin once removed (my cousin’s son) in January and he loves elephants (he’s 3) so I’m knitting him a green elephant from Kate Delaney’s World of Knitted Toys.  I’ll see all my aunts and several cousins at my cousin Aubry’s wedding in January.  I suppose I should get a gift for her, but it won’t be knit, it’ll be purchased.

"Daddy come back - don't leave me with these two crazy young dogs."

Oh, and, shhhhh, don’t tell anyone but I bought a couple of books on Weaving.  Yep. I think its time.  So for my 15th weddign anniversary present (in 9 months) I’m getting a Rigid Heddle Loom.  Well that is if after reading the weaving books I’m still interested.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Very Sad Cousin Norman

  1. Mr. Puffy says:

    Awww. Poor Norman. I think a nice massage and some aromatherapy are in order 🙂

    Hurray for learning to weave! I love woven fabric and I’ll be curious to hear if it’s difficult to do.

  2. Oh, poor Norman! Hopefully he’ll settle in soon. Which weaving books did you choose so far?

  3. Chris says:

    I hope Norman’s settled in and stopped pining…

  4. Lesley says:

    Poor Norman. That must be so heartbreaking. When Hannah first came to live with us she would be convinced that every car that slowed near our house would be her old family chiming for her. It was hard enough knowing she was so sad, if she had cried, too, it would have ripped me apart.

  5. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Poor Norman- sounds like separation anxiety.

  6. How much yarn does an elephant take? Sounds like an elephant joke. Remember those?

  7. Carrie K says:

    Oh, poor Norman. Is he any better yet? It’s kind of soon though.

    That alternating skeins is what everyone says is the thing to do, so it should work out nicely. Let me know, okay? I’ve never actually tried it.

  8. Angel says:

    Chloe did that when I left her for a weekend with my colleague Chad and his wife. Apparently she sat outside their bedroom door and cried all night!

  9. CatMyers says:

    I hope Norman is settled in now, Rebekah. So sad when they do that.

    How exciting getting a loom. I’ve always wanted one too, but not likely to happen this side of the new system. 🙂 Apparently, there’s math involved. LOL Looking forward to seeing your elephant.

  10. Kat says:

    Sarah is so excited about meeting Dante and Amber and Joel.

Leave a Reply

