Green Elephants Do Exist

 

The Rare Green Elephant

Its true. They are hard to find or see as they tend to blend in with their natural background in the rainforest. Because, well that is where green elephants live is in the rain forest.  They’d stand out to much in the African landscape, so they are forced to live in the rain forest.  I was able to capture this on my camera, of course he’s eyeless because I haven’t found the perfect eyes yet.  I was thinking of putting on buttons for eyes, but I don’t like the buttons I currently have. 

Norman is starting to settle in, and it looks like my brother will have suitable employment very soon and hopes to be able to pick Norman up before the end of the year.  I hope it works out for him, but I think we’ll miss Norman.  Of course our house just isn’t big enough for 3 large dogs on a permanent basis.  And Norman still won’t use the doggy door, so he has to spend his days outside.  I’m hopeful at some point he’ll just do it, he sees the dogs go in and out and he knows what the door is for, he just refuses to push it open with his own nose.  But he’ll readily go through if we hold it open.  And he seems to really enjoy all the treats we give him.  We are just spoiling him as best as we can, as any aunt and uncle should.

Is my daddy across this field?

The boys have also started accepting that Norman is here for a while, and have even allowed him to snuggle me. 

Now that the elephant is finished and my yarn for St. Brigid isn’t here yet, I’m not sure what I’ll work on.  I have quite a bit of work I need to do in the evenings, so there may not be much knitting anyway until the yarn gets here.  I guess I’ll just make some more dishclothes. 

Shhh….I’m getting a packaged delivered this week.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Green Elephants Do Exist

  1. Kristi says:

    Great elephant! I’m glad Norman is settling in. Emma wouldn’t come inside through our dog door either so we’ve sealed it up. She would go out though without prodding of a treat. It was kind of weird.

  2. Kat says:

    Just be careful about the size of the buttons. Either make them really small so that if they come off and he puts them in his mouth he will completely swallow them (they’ll come back out) or large enough that there is no danger of choking. For little kid stuff I often sew on fabric eyes, or you could just embroider them on with some yarn. Probably you already knew this, but being a paranoid mother type I have to warn everyone.

  3. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I bet Norman likes to snuggle- he’s a big boy.

    Love the Elephant-

  4. Carrie K says:

    Packages! Sounds lovely.

    Aw, Norman sounds like he’s adjusting a bit. Cousins.

    That green elephant is ADORABLE.

  5. Mr. Puffy says:

    Ohhhh a package ~ lucky you!!!

    Love the green elephant ~ hope you find just the right buttons for his eyes.

    You are being a great Auntie!

  6. Kathy says:

    I love the elephant! I have an elephant-thing. I collect them. I keep saying I’m going to knit one of the many out there, but i haven’t yet. I agree that embroidered or knit-over (whatever it’s called) eyes might be better. One lucky nephew… and I’m glad Norman is doing better… I don’t think I could handle that!

  7. Chris says:

    Cute elephant! Does he have eyes yet??

    Poor Norman… I’m glad he’s settling in a bit.

  8. Robin says:

    You can fit a lot of peanuts in that trunk! SO CUTE!

Leave a Reply

