My New Toy

My Harp....Listen to it Sing!

I gave in. I couldn’t help it, and in my defense I have been thinking about it for several years.  But I finally bit the bullet and I am now the proud owner of a 32″ Krominski Rigid Heddle Harp Loom.  Nick got up at 6:00 a.m. Saturday and put it together for me.  By noon I had it warped and was happily weaving along on fabric for Nick’s Kalimba Bag, considering the knit one was a complete flop.  By Sunday evening I had pulled the fabric off the loom, well because I ran out of green yarn. 

I also managed to wind my Cascade Indulgence from the Ravelry person into balls, so I’m ready to work on St. Brigid again.  Of course I didn’t do any of my work work this weekend because I was too busy playing.  But that’s okay, I’ve worked every weekend for the past 6 weeks or so, so I guess I’m entitled to one weekend off.

On the 4-day weekend coming up, I plan to warp the loom again and start my next project.  My salvedge edges are a it unevent and I had warp tension issues, but as with anything practice makes perfect.

"I love couch time."

Norman is settling in very well.  He’s been with us 2 weeks now.  Him and Django still have their moments, but overall everyone is settling in well.  In fact Norman had quite a few couch visits with me.  He’s a grand snuggler.  Although I think we are going to have to have Django and Abner put on blocks because we have to actually bend over to pet them.  It is so effortless to pet Norman he’s at perfect hand height when you are standing. He loves to run around the backyard on his super long leash, and is quite happy when you run with him.  No one would ever guess this giant is 11.   I think when he leaves though Basil is going to miss him most, he seems to really like having a roommate.

Alright well since I’ve finished my Kalimba Bag Fabric (I’ll post pictures of the final bag once I get it sewn), I’m going to go work on St. Brigid!

Oh I can’t wait for the 4-day weekend.  The weaving I plan to do….and knitting to of course.  I’ll never forsake my first love, but I’m having fun with my new infatuation.  Next post, we have Django hunting rascally rabbits.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My New Toy

  1. Kelly says:

    oohhh can I have a go?? Always wanted to try.
    Glad Norman is settling in well, looks like quite the suggle bunny 🙂

  2. Kristi says:

    Well, I don’t know much about weaving, but that looks awfully good from here for a first piece. I’m totally jealous, BTW! We have absolutely no space for one. If we did I think we maybe would have one as DH is really interested in learning to weave himself.

  3. Angel says:

    You may inspire me to pull my loom back out. My apartment is so small that it has mostly remained folded up (mine is the Ashford Knitter’s loom) and put away.

  4. Lifesastitch says:

    You gave in! Make sure your weft yarn is at a diagonal to the previous row prior to beating. If you keep that angle consistent your edges should be even.
    Have fun!

  5. Robin says:

    I’m trying to resist!! Truthfully, I wish I had never sold my big looms. It just took so much time to warp the things. Yes, I’m trying to resist!!!! Give the pets pats from me!

  6. Mr. Puffy says:

    Wow! I’m so impressed with your first weaving project ~ that’s something I would like to try too. I’m be curious if get tired of it.

    So happy to see Norman is settling in well!

    Have a happy Thanksgiving and enjoy your 4 day weekend 🙂

  7. Lesley says:

    I have resisted weaving . . . So far. Must. Not. Look.

  8. Chris says:

    I hope you’re having fun with your new toy. I don’t want to imagine what my cats would do to that…

Leave a Reply

