Nick’s Kalimba Bag and Aubrey’s Wedding Scarf

Nick's Kalimba Bag

The one problem with weaving is that you can finish projects so quickly that you stack up finished objects to write about but  never can seem to find the time to write about them.  I sewed Nick’s Kalimba bag last weekend and finally got around to taking pictures. He loves it and it was a much greater success than the knit and the felt Kalimba Bag.

Right Before Removing

 

My cousin is getting married in a month, she’s a much younger cousin and when I asked my aunt what she may like as a wedding present, she apparently yelled from the kitchen a hat and scarf. 

Okay, well not much of a “wedding” present as it does nothing for the groom, but I decided to oblige and have woven her a scarf, a very long scarf its at least 9 feet long, and am going to make a hat to match.  The worst part is she wanted it out of completely synthetic yarn.  yuck.  But I went and bought some Simply Soft at Michael’s as it was on sale 2 for $5.  And in one day I warped and wove a 9 foot scarf.  Now I could have never knit a scarf that quickly!  I will knit her a matching hat. 

For the husband to be they have some camping gear on t heir gift registry so I guess he’ll get some camping gear.  I thought about making matching scarves but that is too cutesy for my family.

I love to sleep.

 

There has been little knitting as I’ve been working most of the weekend and the evenings, but hopefully one of these evenings I’ll get to work on St. Brigid.  The new yarn is working in nicely, I can’t tell a difference, but I’m not as picky as some.  I’m about ready to divide for the arm holes, so who knows, maybe I’ll even finish it in time to wear it this season.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nick’s Kalimba Bag and Aubrey’s Wedding Scarf

  1. Kelly says:

    You definitely need to show us some of Nick playing the Kalimba, I didn’t know what it was until I googled the name when I saw you were making a bag for it. Very cool!

  2. Mr. Puffy says:

    No. No. No. I *love* the idea of making him a matching scarf and hat!!!!! That’s just the cutest wedding gift idea ever :))))

  3. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I learned something new, because I had no idea what a Kalimba is, much less that it required a bag.

  4. Carrie K says:

    Count me in on the Kalima cluenessess.

    Nice to make so many FO’s! Sweet! Sweet like a sleeping pup too.

    I vote for matching scarf & hats too. She did say so. Surely she meant for both of them as it is a WEDDING and not say, Christmas or her birthday. Kids these days…… 🙂

  5. kat says:

    Yes, matching scarves, although as you know, I think they could share. After all marriage is “togetherness.”

    To all the Rebekah followers out there…I didn’t have a clue what a Kalimba was either and my brother and law plays one. 🙂

  6. kat says:

    I meant to say “brother-in-law”

    I’m not sure what a brother and law is. Maybe that is when a person’s sibling is a police officer.

Leave a Reply

