2 for 1 Scarves

2 for 1 Scarves

I’m seriously in love with weaving.  You can finish projects so quick! Of course right now I’m basically weaving scarves.  But still.  Yesterday I wove 2 scarves at once parallel to each other.  It was a lot of fun, slowed the weaving down a tad, but not to much.  They are for my sister and brother-in-law,

On the Loom

I still haven’t started their anniversary tablecloth, and really, maybe this is more practical.  they are matchy but not identical.  Which is kinda cool.  I used Paton’s Classic wool, a solid color for the warp and a varigated color for the weft which ended up with nice stripes.

Today all activities are cancelled do to snow, in St. Louis, if you have an inch of snow evrything is cancelled, we had maybe a half an inch, but they decided it was close enough to an inch.  The world is cancelled.  So today I’m going to weave the matching or maybe complimentary groom’s scarf. 

I’m still knitting the bride’s matching hat.  Its not going so well, I’ve ripped it out.  But I still have 4 weeks.  Although I’d also like to finish this hat I found while purusing hat patterns for the bride on ravelry of a hat with horses on it.  My aunt is a horse fanatic. 

Biscuit Time

Between working a lot of overtime and trying to get the bride’s hat done, I have only accomplished a few rows on St. Brigid.  But you know I think its almost an unconscious fear of St. Brigid.  The last several sweaters I’ve done have not fit at all.  Probably due to my lack of patience in checing gauge , etc.  Its completely my fault, but its making me scared of knitting sweaters. 

After I finish the marathon weaving of presents for my family (to give to my aunts, etc. at the wedding – I rarely see my family and would like to do something for everyone – although I may be setting myself up for failure) I’m going to weave myself a shawl to wear as a coat.  I figure it’ll take 3 weekends to weave.  Maybe, mabye a bit faster, I’m not sure.  I guess I will see.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2 for 1 Scarves

  1. Brigitte says:

    Oh Norman! How did I miss your arrival?! What a sweet baby you are.

    Don’t be afraid of St. Brigid, really! It’s not that difficult, and when I made mine, I didn’t check my tension once. And it came out perfectly. It’s made to be on the big side.

  2. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Don’t be afraid to do St Brigid, you will love the result.

    How many dog cookies do you need on a daily basis?

  3. Mr. Puffy says:

    Love the idea of weaving a cloak for yourself!!!! I don’t knit a lot of sweaters either but primarily because for all the time and effort I hardly wear them whereas I wear accessories all the time.

  4. Angel says:

    You are tempting me to pull my loom out…..

  5. Carrie K says:

    Your woven scarves are gorgeous! I’d love to learn to weave one of these days.

    I hear you on the sweaters! I’ve knit a couple that fit but not the way I’d like. You can do a check on Brigid’s gauge while it’s on the needles – if it’s reasonably within fitting range now, you’re probably good.

  6. Carrie K says:

    Or: you could do like I do – cross your fingers and when you get close to actually finishing and finding out – cast on something new. 😉

  7. You are making it harder to resist the looms!

    I can’t believe that an inch of snow throws you guys off. It seems like that must happen fairly regularly around those parts, doesn’t it?

  8. Lifesastitch says:

    Two at a time! Lady, you are hooked. Or should I say warped? Should I apologize for influencing your decision?

Leave a Reply

