Bryn’s Scarf and Hat

Woven Scarf - Knit Hat

Wow, my titles are incredibly unoriginal right now.  But in my defense, my head hurts, my brain is preoccupied, and well just getting words out that don’t spill into an emotional freak show right now is taking about all the energy I have.  Everything is fine, well I’m assuming everything is fine, but I’m nervous and anxious and once I get more information I’ll share this obnoxious journey I’ve been on the last week, well the last 8 weeks really.  Anywho, I digress.

So this weekend I made my little cousin (she’s only 15 – I’m 37) a hat and scarf set.  This is the sister of the cousin who’s getting married in a couple of weeks.  I like how it turned out, even though the scarf was initially warped to be a different pattern then I couldn’t wrap my brain around how the weft worked, until the middle of the night on Friday (when the scarf was already half done).  So it ended up different then it was intended, but I still like it, even though it looks like little Michelin men (Bib).  Then I decided to make the matching hat like I did with my older cousin’s scarf.  Abner at least obliged and posed with this scarf for me.

Don't I look dashing

I’ve also in the last week gotten quite a bit of progress on St. Brigid.  I only have about 14 rows left of the back, then I’ll have about 70 rows of the front and one sleeve to knit.

After I finished Bryn’s scarf I decided to set up the warp for my invisible cloaking shield.  I’ve always wanted an invisible cloaking shield, and if I could hide away into the background I would really like that.  But then I had problems with my warp.  And well, I’m still in the process of threading the heddle, since I decided to change from a 12-dent heddle (12 threads per inch) to a 10-dent heddle (10 threads per inch) since my yarn was cathing to much in the 12-dent.  I’m not entirely sure that this is going to work and I may end up scrapping the whole warp and not finishing.  In any manner this is not going to be a quick weave like these scarves I’ve been whipping up in a day.  But that’s okay.  I can take things slow for a couple of weeks. 

I'm good at helping mommy

 As you can see by this picture, it definetly helps when you are using the direct warp method, to have a furry tail in your warp separating your threads.

My brother and sister-in-law are getting ready to move into an apartment that accepts dogs, so Norman will probably only be with us about 6 more weeks.  I think I’ll miss the big guy when he’s gone, its been an interesting time with him.  We had about 3 inches of snow on Friday so it made Norman happy, he went out and just laid in it.  I think he was dreaming of Alaska. 

Hopefully by the end of this week my mind will be at ease and I can concentrate on my invisible cloaking shield.  Hope you have a lovely last week of 2010.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bryn’s Scarf and Hat

  1. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Abner is so handsome, and Django is such a help.

    You’ll miss Norman when he goes home.

  2. Carrie K says:

    Isn’t Django a big help? Abner always looks dashing but particularly in those colors. Ths scarf set is really nice.

    I’m sure you will miss Norman! He sounds like a big softie.

    At least your titles are descriptive & apt!

  3. Lifesastitch says:

    Invisible cloaking sheild? This is a cryptic post for sure. Sending you good thoughts.

  4. CatMyers says:

    Well…you know you need to make the boys scarves now, dontcha? Abner is really rockin’ that red herringbone! That’s a beautiful set, Rebekah. Nice job. I’m sure it’s all about the tail separating the warp that makes your scarves come out so nice. 😉

  5. Chris says:

    Hopefully all is well!

  6. Robin says:

    Abner looks so handsome in his scarf! Love the set – especially the hat.

Leave a Reply

