Working at It

The Bride in Her Hat

Do you find that in life you are always working at something?  I guess its just a part of life, no matter how relaxing it is, its still work.  Even when I’m having fun working on my sweater…see there is that evil word again, work.  Well I’m on the second sleeve to St. Brigid.  If…and that’s a big if….I get to work on it this weekend I should maybe finish the sleeve.  Although I’m dying to get back to my loom again as well.  I haven’t woven one centimeter in the last two weeks.  I was at my cousin’s wedding the weekend before last and this past weekend I worked the entirety of it as work work is insane right now.  This weekend doesn’t look much better, so I’m not sure if there will be weaving or knitting.  But the one thing that I love about knitting over weaving is that it is really much more portable. 

I also purchased a book on card or tablet weaving.  I really want to try it.  Its very cool and has such a rich history in nearly all parts of the world, excluding the Americas of course.  I’ve only read the historical part of the book because I just simply haven’t had time to read anything more. 

I’m also trying to refocus on my health and weight again as well.  But then I think that will be the one constant thing I’m always working at.  It doesn’t seem like it will every really go away.  But well, at least there is always the stability of it being around, stability is comforting right?  With some gift certificates I purchased the New Ea Active 2 for our Wii (that Nick’s parents bought us) so I’m following the Cardio Kick Start program, but I’m only on the 2nd workout.  We’ll see how it goes.  Right now its killing me, but I’m really out of shape.  I may go back to my walking programs, but we’ll see.  Every day is a different day and provides different opportunities. 

So in crafting news my cousin (the bride) loved her hat, but I think was less than thrilled about the scarf.  She immediatley threw both on, and then promptly wore her hat for the next two days but didn’t wear the scarf. My cousin who received the red and black hat, graciously accepted her gift, but I don’t think really liked it.  But afterall she’s 15 and well, that’s a tough age to get a gift right.  But she’s such a sweet kid I didn’t really care that she didn’t fall all over it. 

I'll miss Norman too.

In doggy news, Norman is going to be with us at least a month longer than my brother anticipated.  So now the earliest he’ll leave us is March. I can’t help but deny I’m happy.  I’m going to miss the big guy when he’s gone.  Although I’ve tried very hard to constantly remind myself he’s a temporary resident, its hard to not wish he’d stay forever.

Well, I’d better get back to “working at it.”  Have a good week.  HOpefully I’ll catch up on everyone’s blogs I read soon.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Working at It

  1. Kathy says:

    I really didn’t get scarves at all until I was a knitter. I didn’t understand the desire to throw some long piece of fabric on that might flop into my coffee at any moment. Maybe that is just me though. And I’ve occasionally knit something (cowl) and been disenchanted and after awhile come back to it with new eyes. Hopefully that will happen for both of them.

    I hope that work slackens so you can get back to *creating.* 🙂

  2. You are right, we’re always working at something. I suppose that is better than the alternative though 🙂

    I’d love to hear a report on the EA Active 2 once you’re been with it for a while. It seems like a bit more comprehensive of a system than the standard Wii Fit 2. It has been on my wishlist but I haven’t gotten it yet.

  3. Uh-oh, I’m afraid to read about a new weaving technique. I need to avoid distraction 😉

  4. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Weight is a bad word around here.

    I’m so happy you have a Norman extension.

  5. Mr. Puffy says:

    That hat is adorable on her!!!! Don’t worry about the scarf ~ that’s much harder to wear unless one is all bundled up with a coat, etc. She’ll wear and enjoy it plenty. I’ve had some angst with gift knitting lately as I’ll be knitting a baby gift and a scarf over the next few months and it’s been hard picking the projects/colors.

    Steve has to really watch his weight and when he gets serious he turns to Cliff Sheats recipes/program. It’s basically to increase your metabolism and get you eating healthy. Good luck as I know it’s a struggle.

  6. Kimberly says:

    I’m always “working” on something too. The weight is a big issue.

    Norman looks like a sweet dog. Maybe you’ll get to visit one another.

  7. Brigitte says:

    Oh, Norman you lucky boy you!

    I am slowly becoming intrigued by weaving…Any good site recommendations?

    • Carrie K says:

      Nice that you get Norman for another month!

      I’m always “working” on something too but some of it is fun (if frustrating) and some of it just pays the bills.

  8. Chris says:

    Well, at least she loved the hat!! Are things still so crazy for you?

    Yay for getting to keep Norman a bit longer!

Leave a Reply

